• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

help with 2014 impala

Status
Not open for further replies.

bluestallion

Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2009
Messages
125
Location
noble il
Im wanting to mount my 7800 in the car. Battery is under hood, but cant find a place to run power wire through. Friend said to use cig plug but id rather not because would have to run lower power. Any one know what i can do? Thanks
 

PACNWDude

Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2012
Messages
813
No firewall access on new GM cars.

I have had problems finding firewall access in newer cars in general, but specifically GM vehicles. Unless they are police or fleet vehicles, they come very well sealed up.

What I have been doing is to wire the power cords to the battery, delay timer, etc. And then route them to the lower corner of the windshield. There is usually a gap where the firewall, fender and windshield meet.

I then pull the door gasket off a few inches and drill a hole or cut a notch near the door frame edge. Wires get routed through there and then go through the dash and on to the radios.

The rubber weatherstrip gasket hides this edge of metal, (I usually drill a hole instead of a notch and grommet this hole so the wires do not scrape bare metal) and secure the cable under the hood,fender and behind the dash with cable ties.
 

bluestallion

Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2009
Messages
125
Location
noble il
I looked into that, but connectors are at door so no wires go on through. Think i will run a wire loom down along the frame and make a small hole in the trunk drain and run wires into trunk so that can have shorter coax run. Will take pictures once everything is done. Then have to figure out were to put the radio head
 

mrweather

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
990
Another possibility may be to use the opening the hood release cable passes through.
 

rescue161

KE4FHH
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 5, 2002
Messages
3,094
Location
Hubert, NC
On the police cars that we install, there is a firewall entry point right behind the engine, on the passenger's side. You have to pull back the rubber mat to see it. If you have carpet, you'd have to pull it back. If the civilian models do not have this entry point, you can drill a hole. We have to do this on some vehicles that are not police package vehicles. After we drill the hole, we use a rubber grommet and then seal the hole with silicon after the wires are pushed through.
 

WB4CS

Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2005
Messages
900
Location
Northern Alabama
I'm not sure about the 2014 model, but in my 2012 model there's a rubber grommet behind the center of the dash (where the stereo is) and just to the right. It's just to the right of the "hump" in the floorboard. That hole goes into the engine compartment, but was a little tricky fishing the wire up towards the battery, because the back of the engine is so close to the body. BE AWARE, make sure the car's engine is cool when you do this! I burned the crap out of my arm when I ran my power cable.

Mine was easy to get to, but my car has the 60/40 bench seats with a column shifter. I think they removed that option in 2013, so I bet there's a center console between the seats in yours that might make it difficult to get to.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top