Help With Basement Shortwave Listening

Status
Not open for further replies.

MikeThompson

Hi everyone, I'm just getting into this hobby. I have an older Grundig 865 radio that I have had some luck with outside. The factory telescopic Arial is a little beat up, but I put a length of wire on it with an alligator clip and strung it outside. I got a few solid signals. I was hooked.

However, I'd really like to set up that radio downstairs on my work bench. I've found that I get nothing down there. I've tried clipping my wire on and running it outside, but I still don't get anything. I have a ton of questions:

1) Found interference from all the electronic devices in the house be interfering with the signals despite the antenna wire going outside?

2) if I plug in an external antenna to this hole on the back, does it cancel out the telescopic one?

Thanks for your help guys!

jim202

First of all, welcome to the board here. You should find a number of people that can come up with answers to questions and problems most of the time.

The simplest HF antenna is just a long wire. The length will be set by what frequencies your looking to listen to. But in general, your looking at something in the order of 50 to 100 feet in length. As your using the antenna for receiving only, the length is not critical. The longer it is, the better it will work at the lower frequencies.

Yes you could use a piece of coax to get your antenna out of the house. From the photo you provided, the antenna should be connected to the port with the Y under it. The one to the right with the upside down triangle figure is the ground.