• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Help with BC246t

Status
Not open for further replies.

irkjvo

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 7, 2008
Messages
54
Location
Leesburg, GA
Ok I just bought a BC246t. I used arc246 and downloads from radioreference to program it. My problem is on one county they use convential system type and on the neighboring county they use Motorola Type 2 800MHz Smartzone. All freq seemed to download and install correctly. And I can listen to the convential system fine. BUT the trunked systems all sound like a machine gun. Nothing is dicernable. Need help because I can't figure this out. The county in question is Dougherty County Georgia.
 

irkjvo

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 7, 2008
Messages
54
Location
Leesburg, GA
Correct I'm out of luck or correct it's digitial? If so guess I'll add a digital to the collection. Hate I wasted money on the 246t.
 

N8IAA

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
6,736
Location
Fortunately, GA
irkjvo said:
Correct I'm out of luck or correct it's digitial? If so guess I'll add a digital to the collection. Hate I wasted money on the 246t.
It is still analog with the ability to add digital to it. Not seeing a D after the TG ID's, your 246 will work. I'm sure that there are conventional frequencies to monitor in the area. When you hold on the main CC, what is the baud rate? 3600 or 9600? If the latter, it is digital. Also, post to the Georgia forum on RR. You may get more info there.
HTH,
Larry
 
Last edited:

n2mdk

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2007
Messages
2,441
Location
Ames, IA
N8IAA said:
It is still analog with the ability to add digital to it. Not seeing a D after the TG ID's, your 246 will work. I'm sure that there are conventional frequencies to monitor in the area. When you hold on the main CC, what is the baud rate? 3600 or 9600? If the latter, it is digital. Also, post to the Georgia forum on RR. You may get more info there.
HTH,
Larry
It's a Motorola Type II so it's going to be 3600 baud no matter what. Only a P-25 system will show as 9600 not a Moto.
Since no mode type is listed it's most likely all digital TGIDs.
 

irkjvo

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 7, 2008
Messages
54
Location
Leesburg, GA
Thanks Jerri & Larry. Guess I need to order a 396t. Man ... my wife is going to kill me!
 

RogerH11

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
128
Location
16866
irkjvo,

When you say "machine gun" are you seeing talk group IDs show up or just a freq?
 

RogerH11

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
128
Location
16866
So the word "Dispatch" is a talkgroup I assume? Do you hear the same sound when other talkgroup IDs appear? My 246 doesn't have the same screen as yours. I don't have the word "Busy" line with Freq. number. My display only has the info above the black line on it.

To me it looks like an analog system so it may be programmed wrong.

Try hitting the menu button and under "Program System" hit the E key
Scroll with the tuning knob and under "New System" hit the E key again.

"Under Sys Type" scroll over to "MOT" and the E key.
Hit the E key again under "800 Standard".
Scroll over to "Set Freq." and hit the E key and input the control channel freqs.

After you're done then enter the system you just programmed through the menu screen and hit the E key under "Edit System Option." Then scroll untill you get to "C-Ch Only" and hit the E key. On that screen scroll and set it to "On" and hit the E key.

Then after you do that hit the "Scan" key and hit the key number (4 for example) for whatever system number you just programmed it in while turning off the keys for the systems already in use (1 through 3 by the looks of it).

This will make sure it's programmed correctly and see if you can pick anything up. Perhaps it's programmed wrong or there are some digital signals on it. L/O the signals you can't hear and see what all you can hear. If it's encrypted then you'll hear beeps followed by lots of static. I'm not sure what just plain digital sounds like.

Anyway, does the machine gun also sound like a diesel engine? To me it sounds like you may be hearing just the control channel instead of trunking it.
 
Last edited:

n2mdk

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2007
Messages
2,441
Location
Ames, IA
That's attached image is a screen capture from the Virtual Control in the ARC246 software.
 

irkjvo

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 7, 2008
Messages
54
Location
Leesburg, GA
Thanks Roger, I'll give this a try when I get back from Church. I do believe from other correspondence that this is a all digital system. In this case the 246t don't do me much good.
Jerri ... yes that was a screen cap from arc246. I used it because it was identical to what was on the 246t's screen. Above the line.

Roger I completed the steps you suggested and get the same static and then the machine gun sound. It must just be a complete digital system. I should have researched this area better before I purchased this scanner.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top