Help with GSR PSR-300

Status
Not open for further replies.

rmoc_guy

Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2010
Messages
27
Location
Ottawa, ON
I bought this PSR-300 not too long ago in an attempt to be able to receive trunked signals from the City of Ottawa. I've been a scanner user for 2 years and I'm new to the whole trunked thing but for the Public Safety network (EDACS), the scanner won't read the talk groups.

I have all 15 frequencies programmed in and I have set each channel to ED but it still won't read the EDACS talkgroups. But I can receive the transmissions if I have the scanner in manual. What am I doing wrong?
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
Ok i will take a crack at it.
First are you programming manually (by hand) or with an editor (psr300 arc300 win97)

What i would do i just have 1 bank (0-9) dedicated to this system so im going to assume we will use bank 9

Label bank 9 Public Safety
Set the mode to edacs
and set the trunk mode to open (so you get all the talkgroups not just the ones you have entered)
Next in the freq editor skip channel 0 and start with channel 1 and put these in the same order i have them listed.

866.33750
866.96250
867.21250
866.46250
866.71250
867.33750
867.71250

now set each freq to edacs turn priority to off attn to off

let me know if i missed anything :)
 

DickH

Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
4,061
I bought this PSR-300 not too long ago in an attempt to be able to receive trunked signals from the City of Ottawa. I've been a scanner user for 2 years and I'm new to the whole trunked thing but for the Public Safety network (EDACS), the scanner won't read the talk groups.

I have all 15 frequencies programmed in and I have set each channel to ED but it still won't read the EDACS talkgroups. But I can receive the transmissions if I have the scanner in manual. What am I doing wrong?
1) Be sure to put each site in a separate bank.
2) The first freq. MUST be in channel 1 or 101 or 201, depending on which bank it's in, then they must be in the exact channels shown in the database. They happen to be in order, 1,2,3 etc.
 

gmclam

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
5,380
Location
Fair Oaks, CA
Psr-300

I bought this PSR-300 not too long ago in an attempt to be able to receive trunked signals from the City of Ottawa. I've been a scanner user for 2 years and I'm new to the whole trunked thing but for the Public Safety network (EDACS), the scanner won't read the talk groups.

I have all 15 frequencies programmed in and I have set each channel to ED but it still won't read the EDACS talkgroups. But I can receive the transmissions if I have the scanner in manual. What am I doing wrong?
You didn't mention programming talkgroups (TGs) - did you? If you did not program any TGs, you need to run the bank OPEN. Go to the bank and press FUNC . to toggle between OPEN and CLOSED. The result is displayed after pressing FUNC ..

What happens in OPEN mode is that you'll hear everything on the system. To limit what you want to hear, you'll need to program in the TGs that you want and set the bank to CLOSED.
 

rmoc_guy

Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2010
Messages
27
Location
Ottawa, ON
Ok i will take a crack at it.
First are you programming manually (by hand) or with an editor (psr300 arc300 win97)

What i would do i just have 1 bank (0-9) dedicated to this system so im going to assume we will use bank 9

Label bank 9 Public Safety
Set the mode to edacs
and set the trunk mode to open (so you get all the talkgroups not just the ones you have entered)
Next in the freq editor skip channel 0 and start with channel 1 and put these in the same order i have them listed.

866.33750
866.96250
867.21250
866.46250
866.71250
867.33750
867.71250

now set each freq to edacs turn priority to off attn to off

let me know if i missed anything :)
I am doing it manually. I have it set to open but when I receive a transmission on the 300 it continues to display "ED: none" except on 867.21250 which has a constant transmission. I have it set as open but it makes no difference since the talkgroups ain't even registering on the scanner.

1) Be sure to put each site in a separate bank.
2) The first freq. MUST be in channel 1 or 101 or 201, depending on which bank it's in, then they must be in the exact channels shown in the database. They happen to be in order, 1,2,3 etc.
Still hasn't resolved the whole "ED: none" issue.

You didn't mention programming talkgroups (TGs) - did you? If you did not program any TGs, you need to run the bank OPEN. Go to the bank and press FUNC . to toggle between OPEN and CLOSED. The result is displayed after pressing FUNC ..

What happens in OPEN mode is that you'll hear everything on the system. To limit what you want to hear, you'll need to program in the TGs that you want and set the bank to CLOSED.
Yes I do understand this but this is not the issue. I understand the whole Open/Closed mode.

*edit* I just had it identify one of the talkgroups for a few seconds on another channel. But only for a few seconds. It just identified another and it happened to be morriscode being transmitted on 11-031
 
Last edited:

rmoc_guy

Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2010
Messages
27
Location
Ottawa, ON
I would just like to add that I took a trip up to the Casino du Lac Leamy in Gatineau, QC (in the database under Outouais) because I noticed they have an EDACS system as well and I get some of their talkgroups but I still get the same type of problem.

Also the Public Safety is sometimes registering with my scanner but not all the time. Also sometimes it shows up on the screen then immediately disappears and no transmission is being broadcasted to the speakers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top