Help With Mobile Antenna Reception

Status
Not open for further replies.

ocjesse

I'm new to scanning and recently purchased a Uniden 996t scanner for my truck. I wired a Firestick Scanner antenna to the Uniden with low loss cable. For some reason my reception is poor (I live rural without much activity and can only test on 150 - 155MHZ). If I connect the uniden supplied antenna to the scanner in my house reception is good.

I did tons of research but can seem to answer some basic questions myself, so I'm hoping to get some good feed back.

Below is a link to a photo of the antenna locations, to the left is the Firestick, to the right is a second antenna (Austin Spectra) which I have separately wired into the cab hoping that It would work better, but unfortunately they both perform poorly. The other antennas are for wireless broadband and XM, I tried removing them thinking there was some sort of interference, but the results were the same.

http://www.opencube.com/tundra/d2.jpg

Questions:

1: Where the coax connects to the antenna stud, I used a bolt through a ring which I connected to the inner wire of the coax and verified that the signal goes through to the antenna. What if anything should I do with the outer shielding wire (I cant use a pl259 due to my mount situation, I tried grounding it but that made it worse, I tried wiring it to the stud / antenna and my results were unchanged)?

2: Do I need a ground plane for scanning (I don't have one where it's mounted, the rack an tonneau is not grounded)?

3: Are my antennas to close to the cab?

Any advice is appreciated, thanks in advance.

N0ZQR

Premium Subscriber
Did you insulate the bolt from the mounting plate? It would help (at least me) if we could see what the bolt/mounting plate looks like.

As far as the other antenna, I am not familiar with that so will need to have someone else help you with that one!

Cool ride otherwise

Ron

ocjesse