• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

help with the pro 97 no sound

Status
Not open for further replies.

wolf10851

Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
4
ok I have a pro 97 that I have been using for about a year in southern CA with absolutely no problems. I moved up to northern CA (Sacramento area) and tried to program in the codes for Sacramento County using a trial version of win97 and I get no sound at all now. It looks like it is scanning properly it will stop on a channel the little lightning bolt symbol appears but no sound at all. I do get sound from the keypad though so I know that the speaker is working. even when I manually scan the CB frequency band same thing and I have tried playing with the squelch so it is not that and I have the volume turned all the way up also :) so it is not that.
any help??
thanks
 

Sac916

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,400
wolf10851 said:
ok I have a pro 97 that I have been using for about a year in southern CA with absolutely no problems. I moved up to northern CA (Sacramento area) and tried to program in the codes for Sacramento County using a trial version of win97 and I get no sound at all now. It looks like it is scanning properly it will stop on a channel the little lightning bolt symbol appears but no sound at all. I do get sound from the keypad though so I know that the speaker is working. even when I manually scan the CB frequency band same thing and I have tried playing with the squelch so it is not that and I have the volume turned all the way up also :) so it is not that.
any help??
thanks
Which radio systems have you programmed?
Do you get audio when you monitor any of the weather pre-programmed channels?
 

RayK

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2006
Messages
251
Location
Bradenton,fl
Have you tried using the earphone jack,you could have a diry jack connection,try using a plug in and out a few times to excerise the contacts.
Ray
 

wolf10851

Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
4
antfreq said:
Which radio systems have you programmed?
Do you get audio when you monitor any of the weather pre-programmed channels?
no I don't get audio on the weather channels and I tried the headphone jack and that didn't help either
 

wolf10851

Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
4
anyone else have any ideas?

I took it into radio shack today and they were of no use except to tell me that it is still under warranty however I don't know if it is a bad scanner or just a setting that needs to be changed
 

timmer

Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2003
Messages
264
Is there a "mute" function on it that somehow got turned on? If not, then it probably is going to need repaired.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top