Help with two RTL-SDR's and Unitrunker?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Radioflow

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 28, 2017
Messages
34
Hey everyone, I want to listen to a trunked system, ICIS
https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=2856
I have two RTL-SDR's connected, and they both work in SDR#.

I'm trying to listen to Montebello's systems, I have Unitrunker's Signal on the primary control channel, and Voice (from my understanding should be set to 0) at 0. Analog output goes to my monitor speakers, and digital to DSD+ through VAC to my monitor speakers.

The thing is, Voice health is 0, and it is parked, RSSI 0 Window 0, What am i doing wrong exactly? I'm trying to use two receivers.

Here's a screenshot of my Unitrunker and VCO's.

https://i.gyazo.com/ac120bc8135244e7336dc11305a06259.png

Thanks in advance for the help.

Edit: I should also add that DSD+ DOES show this:

https://i.gyazo.com/e4f40ab213771845e193a9fb526f3803.gif

Edit: I did get some freqencies to show up, but still no audio
https://i.gyazo.com/eacaa3c180bb889ec4d17d8979199764.png
I was not using the correct "standard" protocol in the wizard. Health on voice is still zero.

Another update since last edit:
https://i.gyazo.com/e5e4870762c499b961caf15983b28327.png
I see a call in the (frequency log display thing?) But I don't hear anything, even if i do have it set to my monitor speakers.

Another edit: I fixed the audio output i guess, It's literally just static that i hear when a call starts.
 
Last edited:

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
0
Location
Virginia
The thing is, Voice health is 0, and it is parked, RSSI 0 Window 0, What am i doing wrong exactly?
Anything in the "Signal" section applies only to the signal role. Anything in the "Voice" section only applies to the voice role.

The RR DB shows this to be a UHF system. The frequencies shown in your later screen shot are pure nonsense. Your first screen shot actually looks better.

https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=2856

You need to click "stop" on both RTL sticks. Delete site 3. Click "Start" to re-start the signal role RTL stick.

When the site window appears - the control channel should have the correct frequency eg. 482.0375 Mhz.

Go to the Band Plan tab and enter a band plan. Do NOT use the wizard.

Another option is to manually fill out the frequencies. Use this table:

LCN Mhz
----- -----------
539 482.0375
545 482.1125
548 482.1500
553 482.2125
561 482.3125
569 482.4125
577 482.5125
585 482.6125
 
Last edited:

Radioflow

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 28, 2017
Messages
34
Thanks for helping out, Still very new at this, What exactly do you mean when you refer to by "site" AHHH nevermind.

How do i delete the site? Close it, or something else?
 
Last edited:

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
0
Location
Virginia
The "ontology" of a trunking system are ...

System - collection of one or more sites.
Site - physical transmitting facility with one or more repeaters.
Channel - a repeater output frequency.
Group - a talk group
User - a radio provisioned to operate on the system.

The site window displays call activity when you are monitoring a control channel.

From the main program window, click on the Systems tab to see the system(s) you've logged.

Double-click on a system to open a system window.
In the system window there is a Sites tab that lists all the discovered sites.
Select the site and either ...
* click the Delete tool to delete it, or ...
* double click to (re)open the site window, click on the Channels tab and edit your channels.

Re-start the RTL stick. It should re-discover the site and assign the park frequency to the control channel.
 

Radioflow

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 28, 2017
Messages
34
One more semi related question: Can I import the California CSV in to Unitrunker? If i navigate to it within the explorer of Unitrunker, it does not show, and "download site" never seems to start.

Nevermind! I misspelled my forum name!
 
Last edited:

Radioflow

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 28, 2017
Messages
34
One last question for you Unitrunker, How did you find the LCN's? Is there someone in the RR website i can find these, or how did you come up with them? I really do appreciate the help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top