Im new to scanning, and ive seen this 

DEC HEX Mode Display Description
16368 3ff A TriSvcs Announce All-Calls - Fire/Police/EMS-Wide 
17040 429 A B9 COMMAND Tri-Services Command 
17072 42b A B10 COMMAND Tri-Services Command 

What is it that the "DEC" & "HEX" mean?

and how to i get to those frequencies that have these numbers and such

thanks
For some reason every time someone asks about Hex and Decimal numbers the conversation gets closed early. Dunno why, it is a valid and fascinating subject for scanner listeners....

While most scannists use Decimal to identify talkgroups on Motorola systems some use Hex. Hex is used on the subscribers radios programming and often when you see Hex listings they came from a system radio. Hex is also extensively used in some software applications such as Trunker.

If you are just programming a scanner then you could probably just ignore any references to Hex. On EDACS systems you need to decide whether to use Decimal or AFS. This decision is a little more difficult as some lists only use on or the other while radios often have both. (Personally I prefer decimal, it is easier to deal with...)

Understanding the relationship of Hex and Decimal as well as Binary and the AFS format derived from Binary one can understand how several formats of trunked system numbers were derived. It can also help you decide which format(s) you want to use in your personal lists.

A couple quick questions would be why the analog Motorola systems always seem to be divisible by 16, or how did they come up with AFS for EDACS?

I wrote an extensive treatise about Hex, Dec, AFS and Binary back when I did a website for the BC780 and ScannerMaster. I think they are still accessible at http://www.bc780xlt.com/moreinfo.htm and http://www.bc780xlt.com/faq.htm