HF Loop Antennas and Mounting Height

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phil_KD0SCJ

I have been using an MLA-30+ loop for a few months now and getting very pleasing performance with an RSPdx. I'm getting ready to take the next step which is a T2FD (which would be up now except for a late snow where I live this week). If the T2FD beats the MLA-30+, then I'm headed further in that direction, probably going from a 45' T2DF to whatever the next step is... 90 or 100 feet.

On the other hand, if the MLA-30+ is still better (a distinct possibility because of unavoidable RFI in my general area) then I'm going to an MFJ-1886 loop. I have seen schematics of the top 5 or so loops and I like the MFJ-1886 amplifier the most.

Now, I'm in the planning stages on the path that I might end up with the MFJ-1886. I have watched a lot of videos on loop antennas, read a lot of forum threads, but there's not much of a consensus that I can see regarding mounting height. MFJ tech support gave me a curious answer, they said they like to see 35 feet on all their antennas. I have seen people doing all kinds of A/B testing for different loops but nothing on height. I saw a guy, he had it at 6 feet and at 20 feet in two different videos but didn't even comment about the height change. I have done a little testing for height on the MLA-30+ and it does not like heights at all, decreases SNR from 5' to 15' height very noticeably. Has anybody done, or can point at any data-driven factual work on this subject?

Thank you!

~Phil

bearcatrp

Premium Subscriber
Will be watching this thread as my next antenna is a loop. Have watched many you tube videos and have seen them at different heights. Best guess is to try different heights and see what you find out.

Marcy57

Premium Subscriber