• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Hole Mount

Status
Not open for further replies.

RADIOGUY2002

Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2002
Messages
1,103
Location
Chicago Burbs
How do you fix up a hole mount that has been oxidizes to some degree, apparentily a little water got in their.

And/or what would be the best cable for a 3/4 hole mount (soldered or crimped ???)
 
Last edited:

KC0QNB

Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
730
Location
Gothenburg, NE
is the oxidation on the mount itself? plug end if you don't have a special crimper is tough, solder on the mount end, got a pic of your mount, let me see what it looks like.
 

RADIOGUY2002

Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2002
Messages
1,103
Location
Chicago Burbs
Mount

Its on the brass connector, where the antenna screws on at. I was getting poor coverage, so I removed nut and discovered that. Typical antenex 3/4 hole mount. Most of the gold color is still their, their some scattered spots with white on it.

The rest of cable appears okay.

Good mobile uhf antenna to test with ??
 
Last edited:

KC0QNB

Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
730
Location
Gothenburg, NE
I have 4 uhf antennas that I salvaged from a radio shop auction, I would be willing to give one away, but that won't help you now, beings it is a weekend good luck finding one, brass oxidation usually can be cleaned, what does the center contact look like, is it clean?
 

RADIOGUY2002

Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2002
Messages
1,103
Location
Chicago Burbs
Contact

The center pin is clean, it on the edges of the screw lead. I was thinking its quterwave uhf antenna would work to test it out. I'm tring to see if the antenna is bad or the area. If the pattern is the same then I can rule out a bad antenna theory. I should have purchased a spare quterwave uhf antenna, but didn't. Right now its a 5/8 wave maxard thats on their with a spring load. Seal is nice and tight, so no water got in, just wondering about the connectivity. What do you suggest to use to clean up the brass connector?

Any of these lines would be good,
Laird/Antenex
Maxrad
Antenna Specialist
 

KC0QNB

Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
730
Location
Gothenburg, NE
the antennas I have are A/S, for cleaning maybe Brasso, never had to clean one here is a DYI brass cleaner as long as the "teeth" on the bottom side of the mount are sharp and grounded good I don't think you need to clean the brass, but do it if you wish
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top