Home Patrol HP-1 Initial Impressions

Status
Not open for further replies.

kc2rgw

Premium Subscriber
I juuust got the HP-1 last night.

I've been a scanner user for years, still have a Pro-2006 here that i did several mods to myself over the years and more recently a 396XT as well. I'm a ham operator and a general gadget nerd.

Out of the box setup went as fast as I could possibly walk through it without even having to read the manual. I'd seen a few youtube videos showing how Sentinel mounts up on a computer and has the setup for the software stored on the flash drive for install. Installing Sentinel and doing the initial firmware and database updates was as easy as could be. I use an old XP laptop as my programming/radio machine and it worked without a hitch.

I would like to see Sentinel with a more extended feature set to manipulate the config and settings, but PowerPatrol fills that gap anyway.

I was very curious about the HP-1 and happened to have some spare change in the toy budget so I pretty much impulse bought this unit. This is not 'typically' the scanner I would want. I've never been a fan of the older 'pre-loaded' scanners as I really like controlling what my groups/systems are based on old patterns of how I like to structure things.

This isn't the old way of pre-loading a scanner, it has immense flexibility to select and build groups built-in. Without software, you cannot (at least from what I've figured out) direct entry your own 'channels' though. You poke your way through a GPS style interface drilling down by country -> state -> county -> township via the touch screen interface.

This works very well for a handful of frequencies to add to a 'Favorites' group. It's a bit annoying with initial configuration if you are as specific as I am for how you like to group your systems, but still pretty easy to do.