homepatrol takes long time to scan MARCS

Status
Not open for further replies.

aimedtoannoy

Premium Subscriber
Hey, i live in geneva on the lake and i mostly scan for ashtabula and all of geneva. on conventional (i think) and I also listen to the sheriffs on MARCS, heres the thing.... i am missing out on some of the radio talk on the conventional channels because as it scans through the MARCS system it sticks to it for about 15 seconds (i only have SO4 dispatch and car to car set on the marcs system on my scanner). so my conclusion is that, is it supposed to take a longer time to scan through the MARCS system then go to ashtabula frequencies such and GOLT and geneva?

Sorry im just getting into radios and im a newb

tonya

Premium Subscriber
Had the same issue when I first started with my HP. You need to avoid the Marc's sites that are not within a 30 or so mile area of Ashtabula. The best way to do that is thru the Sentinal program. If you look alittle bit you might find other post's on this subject that might assist you. There is a learning curve to this radio but once you get the hang of it I think you will enjoy.

wmlovell

Premium Subscriber
Also, make sure you are only listening to the Ashtabula Co. MARCS sites and lock out the others all around the State. ....and make sure you are set to "Control Channel Only" on those Ashtabula sites.

Otherwise, the scanner will look for a control channel for each site which slows the scan speed considerable.

Hope this helps.

Bill L.

aimedtoannoy

Premium Subscriber
what is the control channel? like the name of it frequency and what not. I do not have extreme so i cant manually put it in