How common is HF CB (27 MHz Australia), specifically SSB compared to AM

Status
Not open for further replies.

dan12345678

I'm considering buying a HF CB radio along with some of my mates, for long range communication and listening. I am considering buying a TX2720, but I see that it is only AM and not SSB. How much will not having SSB impact my ability with others and would it be worth it to buy a second hand radio with AM and SSB. Thanks in advance as I am new to HF and modulation.

Cheers,
Dan.

TomLine

Is that TX2720 radio VHF 27 mhz? AM 4 watts? Understand there may be a unlicensed "UHF CB" 476 Mhz band as well used down under? FM on that higher band would probably sound better. I'd recommend talking with truckers, radio clubs, and see what's really working there which may be important to know. What kind of distances and terrain are you talking about? Mobile or base? What kind of antenna space is available?

How about getting a low cost RTL-SDR usb stick, SDR# (sdr-sharp is free) a couple cheap vhf/uhf car antennas, or cheap telescoping antenna you can adjust to different lenghts, and listen to what's going on.

Last edited:

dan12345678

Is that TX2720 radio VHF 27 mhz? AM 4 watts? Understand there may be a unlicensed "UHF CB" 476 Mhz band as well used down under? FM on that higher band would probably sound better. I'd recommend talking with truckers, radio clubs, and see what's really working there which may be important to know. What kind of distances and terrain are you talking about? Mobile or base? What kind of antenna space is available?

How about getting a low cost RTL-SDR usb stick, SDR# (sdr-sharp is free) a couple cheap vhf/uhf car antennas, or cheap telescoping antenna you can adjust to different lenghts, and listen to what's going on.
Yeah its 27 MHz HF CB 40Ch. I didn't know you could get USB connectors for antennas and I think I might just do that. Thanks for your help.

TomLine