How Does Trunking work on PRO-92?

Status
Not open for further replies.

gmclam

Premium Subscriber
I was advised to post here (instead of RS scanners) .....

I am a product designer, which includes writing firmware, software & hardware design. So I am a little more than curious as to how the PRO-92 "thinks" when it is scanning a trunked system. After some of my own examinations, I thought I'd post here and see if others know more details and/or if their knowledge jives with my hunches.

First some background where I am monitoring.....

Here in the greater Sacramento (California) area, up until several weeks ago the city and county EACH had their own trunking system. They each have a set of assigned frequencies and what was not a very well thought out set of trunking IDs. A lot of city agencies from police & fire to public works and transit workers are on the city trunk. The county trunk has the sheriff and metro fire department as well as county workers like parks & rec.

When the systems were 100% separate, each trunk had a control channel broadcasting. The city IDs were received only on the city trunk frequencies and the county IDs were received only on the county trunk frequencies.

What seems to have taken place is first the trunk IDs have been carefully assigned to not overlap. Each agency, regardless of city or county now has a unique ID. It appears now that sometimes the two trunks operate as one, and sometimes they operate as two separate trunks. Now I am clearly receiving CITY IDs on "county" trunk frequencies at some times of day. During these times there is only ONE control channel broadcasting total.