BC125AT: How long should I wait for the "Charge Complete" message to show?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bumble_Bee

Hello everyone,

I'm new to scanning so please bear with me!

I purchased a Uniden UBC-125XLT (UK model number) at the weekend (USA / Canada Equivalent - BC125Atom I believe).

The rechargeable batteries (supplied with 2300mAh batteries) obviously needed charging fully before use so I plugged them in and left the unit charging – showing the “Charging” display on the unit.

I assumed that given about 15 hours the message on the display would turn to show “Charge complete”.

Alas, after 21 hours of charge (and with warm batteries) the message had not changed and so I got a bit concerned and disconnected the unit and just started using it.

I am not electronically minded I’m afraid so am not sure what the correct time frame for charging should be, but as the manual talks about 14 hours max charge when on PC charge I am not sure if the unit has a problem recognising a full charge or whether indeed there is a known problem in this area.

How long should I need to wait for an initial first (or any other) full rechargeable battery charge – does anyone know?

Also if I only needed to wait 14 hours would charging the batteries on the unit for 20 hours give cause for concern to the unit itself?

Thanks for your help.

Scan125

The Uniden 125 series of scanners charge their batteries by use of a timer. You can set the charge time in hours. Once the time it up then the "Charging" message in the display (when the scanner is powered off) will disappear.

With the scanner turned on you can check the approximate state of charge by pressing the multi-function scroll button down. In the top right corner of the display you will see the current battery voltage displayed.

Leaving your scanner connected to a computer can leave to battery overcharging and loss of battery like. There are 3 things you can do:

1) Remove the batteries