How often do you update your scanner with RR?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lew

Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2001
Messages
81
Location
Lexington, SC
How often do you update

If your are a premium member of RR you can set up which county/trunk sytems/ agencies you wish to "watch" on the RR watchlist. RR will let you know of any changes/updates by shading the your watchlist selections with a green background. I have all my favorite sytems marked to watch.( about 12).

Lew in SC
 

Bronson24

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 31, 2011
Messages
183
Location
Frostproof,FL
If your are a premium member of RR you can set up which county/trunk sytems/ agencies you wish to "watch" on the RR watchlist. RR will let you know of any changes/updates by shading the your watchlist selections with a green background. I have all my favorite sytems marked to watch.( about 12).

Lew in SC
Gotcha Thanks!
 

WA6IJD

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 10, 2003
Messages
41
Location
Buckeye, AZ
Updating

Myself, I make up all my lists by hand. I don't use the d/l feature. If there is a change, it's no biggie to add or delete, or even change the text.
 

KK4HG

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
189
Location
Rockville, Maryland
Out of necessity. My scanners all but went quiet a couple of months ago. A little research in the RR Wiki taight me that Montgomery County, MD had done a bit of rebanding. All the changes were made and now the thing won't shut up!

By the way, is one a premium member forever or must we "re-enlist"? I'll gladly pay $20.00 today for frequencies tomorrow!:D
 

robschonk

Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2011
Messages
103
Location
Avon, NC
Lets define "update"

The database (scanlists) in my PSR-800 are a work in progress. I'm continually editing the alpha tags, flash patterns for the LED, etc. and sending the changes to the scanner.

Updating from the RR database with the supplied software couldn't be easier. When I've got the software open, I just click on the update button. The changes for the PSR-800 are posted once a week, on Saturday. I then can update the talkgroups, or import anything new. I'm careful to uncheck the block that updates alpha tags.

I usually don't update the nationwide database on the card in the scanner, because it takes a bit of time. Still, once a month or so, when the radio's just sitting.
 

NWI_Scanner_Guy

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
2,241
Location
Hammond, IN
I "update" both my 700 & 800 about every two weeks to keep the library on the SD cards current.


Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk
 

tampatracker

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 9, 2007
Messages
1,197
Every week. I have numerous configurations for the various states I travel to, and to keep up with all of them using the database alone won't work for me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top