how to get more frequencies with r820t and sdr

Status
Not open for further replies.

doughyi8u

Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2014
Messages
17
Location
Fostoria, OH
I'm new to both ham radio and sdr. I did learn how to get fm radio on the sdr-consolev2 but can't get anything else. I was talking to a friend and he said I might need to upgrade the firmware on my dongle which is a r820t in order to pick up other bands. Is this true and if not how do I get to hear other frenquencies like police scanners and stuff.
 

rrbum

Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2012
Messages
165
If you are using windows why not give SDR# a try? Also, with the provided antenna you may only be able to receive strong signals such as an FM broadcast station. Providing a bit more information will allow others to provide more help to you.
 

rbm

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2005
Messages
1,395
Location
Upstate New York
There is no upgrade to the firmware in the R820T USB dongles that I'm aware of.

As they are, they cover from approximately 25MHz-1750MHz.

I use SDR-Radio but I think SDR# (SDRSharp) is easier for the beginner to learn.

Rich
 

doughyi8u

Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2014
Messages
17
Location
Fostoria, OH
Thanks for the replies. I downloaded sdradio sharp but it crashes every time I start it. I'm using a 32 bit pc with vista. It works fine on my dad's laptop which is x64. Does anyone know if there are any known issues with x32 bit machines that I should be aware of?
 

fourthhorseman

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 3, 2009
Messages
2,081
Location
So Far Away....
You should just use SDR#
SDR# | Software Defined Radio in C#

I dont know about SDRadio,But SDR# is a powerhouse.
Lots of easy to load and use plugins from various authors.
and its all FREE! Which still baffles my mind.

I run 32bit machines,dual core,2gig ram.1.8 processor,
Older rugged GeneralDynamics notebooks.XR1's
and I get minimal lag and only crash if I make an error in
updating the XML file. The OS is XP-Pro.SP3

Try reloading the ZADIG drivers. And use SDR#. For the
RTLSDR dongles its become the standard and there is plenty
of FAQ and many people using it so support is all over.
 

rbm

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2005
Messages
1,395
Location
Upstate New York
Thanks for the replies. I downloaded sdradio sharp but it crashes every time I start it. I'm using a 32 bit pc with vista. It works fine on my dad's laptop which is x64. Does anyone know if there are any known issues with x32 bit machines that I should be aware of?
Without knowing the precise error message you're seeing .........

This may have changed. But ...............
Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5 is required
sdrsharp [licensed for non-commercial use only] / Installation

You can go to the Control Panel to find the programs/software installed on your computer.
It will list which (if any) version of ..NET Framework is installed.

You can also go here if you have problems installing the zadig driver.

zadig usb driver refuses to install on Vista
zadig usb driver refuses to install on Vista : RTLSDR

Once you get SDRSharp running, only your imagination will limit what you can do with it.

I've run as many as six USB dongles to cover more than 12 MHz of the UHF MilSat band at the same time. (Closer to 14 MHz)

This video below is just using two dongles and two instances of SDR#.
You can view it in 720p or 1080p to see some of the settings.
The audio is from the bottom instance.

Rich

MilSat Pirates Using two R820T USB Dongles and an X-Wing antenna.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GzQWGPzs1r8
 

doughyi8u

Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2014
Messages
17
Location
Fostoria, OH
ham it up/other devices for sdr

I'm using a r820t dongle and was told the frequencies this dongle can handle is 25MHz - 1750 MHz. I started looking more into sdr and came across NooElec's "hamitup". Will this allow me more frequencies?
What are my other options? I'd like to get as many frequencies as posible w/o having to spend thousand dollars.
 

dougjgray

Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2003
Messages
514
Location
Englewood CO
the ham it up will allow you to recieve 0 to 25 mhz it works like an up converter, havent heard of any down coonverters to get bove the 1750mhz, I have a Ham it up and appears to work although where I live and with the stock antenna I have only recieved AM Radio Stations
 

N0IU

Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2009
Messages
802
Location
Wentzville, Missouri
The HamItUp converter works quite well, but as with anything that involves radio signals, the antenna is the key! For best results, you will need some sort of antenna made for those bands, even if it is a simple dipole outside.
 

Flatliner

Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2014
Messages
391
Location
UK
SDR# is as flaky as is its author. Plugins can bring it down pretty easily too. "Out of Memory" errors are very common.

SDR-Radio.com is much more mellow, reliable and stable - again, just like it's author!
 

burner50

The Third Variable
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 24, 2004
Messages
2,113
Location
NC Iowa
Please just stick to this thread on the subject.


You don't need multiple threads.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top