How to listen to a specific Fire Station dispatch (Atlanta)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi there, I am new to scanning and just got the SDS100. I am interested in listening to my local fire station to see what calls they are getting all day long. How can I do this? I learned how to setup favorites but right now I'm listening to all of Fulton County Public Safety P25. I think my fire station is number 11. Thanks.

MTS2000des

5B2_BEE00 Czar
You can't. TLDR version is IP fire station alerting is used in the CoA and Fulton uses Mach Alert. Both use IP data to alert fire stations silently, though the CoA uses Westnet and when it's primary link fails, you'll hear a "warbling" tone on the fire main talk group which is low speed FSK data to set off the station alert controller.

Mach Alert uses a combo of IP WAN with Astro 25 IV&D for a fallback. Both are silent and the data packets on IV&D can't be decoded by a scanner so you'll have to just listen to fire main and perk up when you hear your desired station get a call. If you're referring to South Fulton station 11, you can always park your radio on FIRE TAC-3 and if a working incident occurs, a dispatcher is assigned and traffic will take place on TAC-3 (unless another call is using this talkgroup, in which case they'll switch to TAC-4).

Reactions: RRR

Honestly, MidtownAtlTower1 probably lives in the Midtown/Atlantic Station area of ATLANTA. Atlanta Fire Rescue Station 11 is located at 165 16th St. NW. Fulton County Fire Station 11 is located in a completely industrial (no residences) area (minus the sleazy hotels on and off Fulton Industrial Blvd).

MTS2000des

5B2_BEE00 Czar
I'm listening to all of Fulton County Public Safety P25