how to prevent distroying multiple radios from RF power due to antennas close

Status
Not open for further replies.

fireboat61

Premium Subscriber
Hello to all, I am gathering information on understanding how to prevent from blowing up the receiver end of scanners and radios due to antennas being close. When I set up my first mobile shack up, I blow out the front end of my scanner because of transmitting 50 watts from a mobile which antenna was to close to the other antenna.

1. is there anything sold that can prevent this?
2. what is distance at a minimum should antennas be apart.
3. Is there an acceptable wattage that will maximize performance but prevent that damage ? ( 5w,10w,25W ect)

I drive a ford f250 4 door.

I am new to understanding theory in regards to distance needed or RF energy,so please be gentle, LOL, seriously though if some of these questions have the simplest answer i am learning.

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
I am new to understanding theory in regards to distance needed or RF energy,so please be gentle, LOL, seriously though if some of these questions have the simplest answer i am learning.

There's a lot to this. It's not as easy as having a rule about what will work and what won't. Just too many variables.

Best approach I've heard is to set up your transceiver on one antenna, and hook up a watt meter with a dummy load on the other antennas. Transmit and see how much power is getting coupled to the other antennas. 1/4 watt seems to be safe for most reputable radios. Obviously less is better.
There's two issues you need to be concerned about:
1. Physical damage. I've run across this on some radios when there wasn't enough spacing between antennas. It can damage the front end and make the radio deaf.
2. Desensitization. This won't damage the radio, but will cause it to not receive while another radio is transmitting.