How to program and use BCD436HP as a "normal" scanner?

ErikVanR

A friend has purchased a 436HP to replace his Radio Shack PRO-96. I am assisting him in setting it up and using it, but I am stumped on how to operate this thing like a typical modern scanner, where you use software and a PC to write a program spreadsheet for everything the way you want it (and nothing you don't want) and then load it to the radio. Or hand program in a few frequencies if you want. I'm not a novice with radios; I've used Win96 software for years with my PRO-96/2096 units, and FreeScan for my BCD325/996P2 units. I also use and program Yaesu/Kenwood amateur transceivers and write/edit codeplugs and program the Kenwood and BK (Bendix-King) VHF/UHF mobiles and portables at work. Some of the HomePatrol terminology is also unconventional: Avoid? Department? I used Sentinel to "load it up" just to get it going, but now I want to "drill-down" and only enable the few systems and channels he wants to monitor, but still be able to easily lockout a few of those and then enable other nearby systems/channels if needed.

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
You actually need both - Sentinel is the only program that can upload firmware fixes, if Uniden ever decides to get off their xxx and release any.

You really can't use these radios as a bank-type scanner. There's a lot of new terminology, and there is a learning curve. We have some FAQs in our wiki to help you along, including links to the Easier to Read manuals...;(links are in blue). Go to the bottom of the first page for these links; the Q&A starts on page 2

I would also check out the various YouTube videos on programming these radios - gotta add those links to the FAQ...

Mike

ka3aaa

Premium Subscriber
play around with programming while you read the users manual. that way you will learn how to program and operate the scanner at the same time. take your time write notes after a while it will be like childs play.

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus