How to program these into Pro-164

Status
Not open for further replies.

TonyH1

Radio Shack Pro-164 Scanner.

I am trying to program in these frequencies and talk groups from here: New Hampshire Department of Natural and Cultural Resources Trunking System, Varies, New Hampshire - Scanner Frequencies
(I was going to start with LifeGuard talk groups)

I am very knowledgebase at programming regular frequencies, this is my first time with trunking.
I've read the manual on Trunking a bunch of times, not grasping it too well yet.
(Starting on page 38 of the manual)
I'm a computer / technical person in general, so usually good at reading and learning stuff.
But I couldn't figure it out.

Searched and read a lot of stuff online including here, I thought I was getting there but no luck yet!

I got as far as:
Made my Bank 4 a "Trunking" bank, I picked motorola (page 38)
Didn't know what to pick after that so I tried:
I used one of the suggested "Fleet Maps" listed on page 40....
Further guessed at Base and Offset Frequencies...page 41
For saving Talk Group IDs (page 45)I then got further stuck

Searched some more, trying to learn how to program these in

I'm usually very self service, I've spent many hours attempting.
Sorry to bother and ask for help.
If you have any instruction you can offer, let me know.
Thank you.

tvengr

Well Known Member
The Pro-164 scanner is analog only. The system you specified is a DMR digital system which your scanner cannot decode.

System Name:New Hampshire Department of Natural and Cultural Resources
County:Statewide
System Type:DMR Tier 3 Standard
System Voice:DMR

TonyH1

Can you suggest a scanner brand or model or lingo that I need to ask for so I could purchase a scanner that would work?

tvengr

Well Known Member