How to set SDS 100 or 200 to a site?

TedTobias

Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2004
Messages
159
Location
West Coast Florida
Hi,
Is it possible to set the SDS models to a particular site or tower? If so how would you accomplish that task?

Thanks so much!

Theodore
 

peewee007

Gary Hanson
Feed Provider
Joined
Apr 20, 2011
Messages
86
Location
Somerset , Wisconsin
Hi,
Is it possible to set the SDS models to a particular site or tower? If so how would you accomplish that task?

Thanks so much!

Theodore
If you want to stop and hold on a specific site, Press Function and then the Middle button, then use the knob to scroll to the site you want to stop on and scroll to it
 

Ubbe

Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Messages
5,724
Location
Stockholm, Sweden
Uniden made the number tags so that you could stop scan and then enter a number to very quickly select a system and a single conventional frequency to monitor. But not so with sites. The number tags are then for systems and TG's.

While the scanner are scanning and have not been manually stopped the quick keys are used to enable and disable system and sites from the scanning process. As Eng74 mention you have to toggle all other sites to Off. First push the system button while the scanning cycle are in the desired system to only scan that system, then push the quick key number combination for the system and the sites to turn them on or off.

It's probably easier to push System to hold on to the system and then push the Function button and the Department button will change to a Site button. Push that Site button to hold on to a site. Wait until the Fn symbol disappears from the display, after 2 seconds, and push Function again and the Site button and then turn the dial to go to the actual site you would like to monitor.

When you push the System button and you happen to be holding on to the wrong system, wait 2 second for the HOLD indicator to turn on and push the System button again and turn the dial to go to the correct system. As long as the system name are highlighted on the display you can use the dial to step thru the systems. After 2 seconds from the last dial use it will turn back to normal again.

/Ubbe
 

kc5voa

Member
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
4
Location
magnolia, tx
If you want to stop and hold on a specific site, Press Function and then the Middle button, then use the knob to scroll to the site you want to stop on and scroll to it
While scanning, when the scanner stops on a transmission and it's on a site you want to hold -just press [function] and the middle key (It should display "site". before the transmission ends. The scanner will stay only on that site until you press function and the middle key again
 

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
8,476
Location
Dallas, TX
I was wondering if you could lock on one tower close to your location would that alleviate simulcast problems?
That's not possible with any scanner. All of the towers have the exact same set of frequencies, and carry the same radio traffic. If "talkgroup 1234" is on "System frequency 1", then each of the towers will have "TGID 1234 on frequency 1" at the exact same time. That's why simulcast is an issue for most scanners. There are multiple towers in the simulcast site, scattered around the service coverage area. While these are transmitting the same set of talkgroups, assigned to the same frequency at each tower, they are at varying distances from your location. So, even though radio waves travel at light speed, there is enough time variation from these individual towers, due to their distances from you, that the signals arrive out of synch enough to impact how the scanner decodes the tower. The SDS series scanners are designed to deal with that time differential. The other scanners on the market do not. the 'professional' radios carried by first responders in the field are also able to handle that issue, as are the Unication pagers and the Bluetail receiver.
 

tvengr

Active Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
3,771
Location
Baltimore County, MD
A simulcast site consists of multiple towers all transmitting on the same frequency at the same time. The problem is that the control channel from each tower arrives at your scanner at a slightly different time creating problems trying to decode the control channel. A directional antenna pointed at one particular tower can improve decoding by reducing the interference from the other towers. If you are close to a tower, you may not have a problem. Sometimes, turning on the attenuator can reduce the number of towers you receive and improve the decoding.
 

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
8,476
Location
Dallas, TX
Sorry which middle key?

Thanks,
The "middle" key (or button of you prefer that term) is the middle one of the three keys just below the display. These are "soft" keys, in that, depending on what you are doing, may be used for various different functions. But when scanning, the 'middle' key is the one for "Departments". If pressed, without first pressing Function, then that causes the scanner to hold on the currently active department within whatever system is being scanned. Pressing Function first, then Department, the scanner holds on whichever site is being scanned on a trunked system. You may also observe 'Site Hold' briefly in the display.
Thank You both so much!
Steve, Does anybody on here have a Bluetail receiver?

Thanks,
Theodore
I don't have one of the Bluetail receivers, but apparently a number of other members do. Check the comments in a very lengthy thread under the "All Other Scanner Manufacturers" sub forum. Most of the comments are very favorable.
 
Top