Howard County EDACS Rebanding

Status
Not open for further replies.

jwheatley

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 31, 2004
Messages
456
Location
Middletown, IN via Kokomo, IN
I think that the Howard County EDACS system has been rebanded. I noticed earlier in the day that my scanner had gone silent on the system. I was watching TV at the time and didn't really realize it until a fire engine came blaring down my road and I had miss the dispatcher.

I did some investigating and saw that I wasn't getting a control channel anymore. I checked the rebanding freqs listed in the database. I found a control channel (851.3375) and scanned the other freqs listed. I have been hearing transmissions on those freqs so that tells me that the rebanding has been done.

Kokomo1, listening to your feed for about 10 minutes all but confirms this. Seems that you and I (and any others in our area) will be busy trying to figure out the new LCNs. Any help anyone can lend would be appreciated!
 

jahnotis

Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2007
Messages
8
rebanding

I notice the numbers are one short of what they used to be. I hope I don't have to re-name any talkgroup numbers.
 

chipl57

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2007
Messages
39
Location
Kokomo, Indiana
The database has been updated with new LCN's. However, I have been using the following LCN's all afternoon with excellent results:

LCN Freq.

12--851.3375
13--852.1250
14--852.3250
15--852.6000
16--852.8500

18--853.2875
19--851.2000

Until someone with unitrunker can confirm, I believe this will be the correct order for the rebanded system. I have it working in a Pro-96 and a BC245xlt as of this writing.


73,

Chip
 

jahnotis

Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2007
Messages
8
jahnotis

thanks. Thanks for the order too, it works like a charm now.
On another note, is anyone experiencing the frustration of trying to explain trunking to an older person?
My dad purchased a trunking scanner and I can't get him to stop taking frequencies out of the Lcn order.
He also puts the birdies in other banks and wonders why the system doesn't work.
 

dagooch0525

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 31, 2004
Messages
41
LCN 11 851.1750
LCN 20 853.2125

Thats odd I didn't see the license for those.
 

chipl57

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2007
Messages
39
Location
Kokomo, Indiana
Sometimes the FCC is horribly slow to update their database info...I put the two LCN's you listed in your post, dagooch, and I have caught traffic on them already. Apparently, they are going to have 10 frequencies in the rebanded section like they did in the former spectrum. Original plan was to drop back to eight. This would explain a missed EMA dispatch transmission on my Pro-96 about 45 min. ago. Now I seem to be getting everything. Marty Talbert will be in where I work tomorrow...I will try to pick his brain about any further info that might help us... Stay tuned!
 

jwheatley

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 31, 2004
Messages
456
Location
Middletown, IN via Kokomo, IN
Gee that was fast!

I added the LCNs in the order listed in the newly updated database and everything seems to be back to normal.

Sometimes the FCC is horribly slow to update their database info...I put the two LCN's you listed in your post, dagooch, and I have caught traffic on them already. Apparently, they are going to have 10 frequencies in the rebanded section like they did in the former spectrum. Original plan was to drop back to eight. This would explain a missed EMA dispatch transmission on my Pro-96 about 45 min. ago. Now I seem to be getting everything. Marty Talbert will be in where I work tomorrow...I will try to pick his brain about any further info that might help us... Stay tuned!
That would be great if you can talk to Sheriff Talbert about it. Please be sure to report back to us. Thanks.
 

K9GTJ

Member
Joined
May 20, 2006
Messages
616
Location
Kokomo, IN
I have my stream updated with the latest from the DB/this thread. Thanks for those finding the information...
 

ksalmons

Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
3
Location
Kokomo, IN
Howard County EDACS

I went back to data base at noon and they had updated again. I have my BC245XLT back in operation. I'm so glad because on another post someone said the 245 would not work after banding. Now my only problem is my new BC246T. If there is anyone out there that can help me reprogram it I'd sure appreciate it. It isn't that I don't want to buy the software, I just don't think I could do it that way either. Thanks
 

K9GTJ

Member
Joined
May 20, 2006
Messages
616
Location
Kokomo, IN
I went back to data base at noon and they had updated again. I have my BC245XLT back in operation. I'm so glad because on another post someone said the 245 would not work after banding. Now my only problem is my new BC246T. If there is anyone out there that can help me reprogram it I'd sure appreciate it. It isn't that I don't want to buy the software, I just don't think I could do it that way either. Thanks
First - Your 245 should still work with rebanding since this is an EDACS system. I say that since you hard program in all of the frequencies in the proper LCN order. (With a rebanded Motorola system it would not work.)

Second - do you have a programming cable for the new radio? If yes, I would be happy to create a file for you to upload using the Butel software. The Butel software is free for 30 days - http://www.butel.nl/ - and makes loading things up a breeze.
 

K9GTJ

Member
Joined
May 20, 2006
Messages
616
Location
Kokomo, IN
I hope we now have everything...

Ref: RR DB

0866.1750 1
0866.3375 2
0867.1250 3
0867.3250 4
0867.6000 5
0867.8500 6
0868.1250 7
0868.2875 8
0866.2000 9
0868.2125 10
0851.1750 11
0851.3375 12
0852.1250 13
0852.3250 14
0852.6000 15
0852.8500 16
0853.1250 17
0853.2875 18
0851.2000 19
0853.2125 20
 

ksalmons

Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
3
Location
Kokomo, IN
Help with 246 Programming

I believe I have the cord for the scanner but will have to find the box. Yes, my 245 works great and I programmed 3 others for people today and they are good. I'll let you know if I have the cord.
Thanks
 

bartoyler

Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2008
Messages
1
kokomo indiana

Howard county Indiana has rebanded their system, does anyone know how to change my uniden scanner to pick up frequencies again?
 

jerk

Active Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2003
Messages
2,449
Location
jerkville
Howard county Indiana has rebanded their system, does anyone know how to change my uniden scanner to pick up frequencies again?
Reprogram in the new LCN order, the small 01, 02, 03, 04 numbers.
Do that, adding I think 11 through 20 and you'll be back in business.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top