HP-2 and Butel ARC HP Virtual Control

Status
Not open for further replies.

nr2d

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 28, 2003
Messages
497
Location
Laurel Springs, NJ
I got an HP-2 today. For some reason I could not upload my favorites lists that I created in Homepatrol Sentinel. The upload seemed to work according to the Sentinel screen but when I went to the HP-2 menus I couldn't find my favorite lists. I solved the problem by removing the micro SD card and up loading directly to the card. And yes I selected the HP-2 to be in the Mass Storage mode.

My problem now is trying to get Butel's ARCHP to see the HP-2. I remember when I setup my BCD536HPs I think I need to get Butel's ARC536 to work. Unlike the 536s I am using the USB port on the HP-2. Do I need to install USB drivers for the HP-2. I downloaded the USB drivers I found on the Uniden site but when I go to install the drivers Windows 7 says the *.inf can't be installed by highlighting the file and selecting install. Any ideas?
 

marksmith

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
4,262
Location
Anne Arundel County, MD
The reason either software can't see the scanner is the driver.

You need to go to system manager, pull up the ? USB item, and then go to the driver see ton and install it. Point it to the folder where you downloaded it.

536/436/ws1095/996p2/996xt/325p2/396xt/psr800/396t/HP-1/HP-2 & others
 

nr2d

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 28, 2003
Messages
497
Location
Laurel Springs, NJ
Sentinel saw the scanner and rhe micro sad card. Sentinel showed the scanner I'd number.
Like I stated the transfer appeared to complete fine according to Sentinel but in reality it didn't.

Also in Device Manager there is no USB ? device shown.
 
Last edited:

marksmith

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
4,262
Location
Anne Arundel County, MD
I got it working.I had to buy the ultimate upgrade to activate the serial mode.
Can't say that is what solved the problem, as the two are not related, but glad to see you fixed up.

536/436/ws1095/996p2/996xt/325p2/396xt/psr800/396t/HP-1/HP-2 & others
 

phask

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
3,351
Location
KZZV - SE Ohio
Can't say that is what solved the problem, as the two are not related, but glad to see you fixed up.

536/436/ws1095/996p2/996xt/325p2/396xt/psr800/396t/HP-1/HP-2 & others

Must have extreme to get the serial out data (or whatever term is used on HP1)
 

fxdscon

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
5,215
From Butel's ARC Patrol Software page:

Virtual Control with built-in RadioReference frequency search (requires HP1/HP2 extreme firmware upgrade)
 

nr2d

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 28, 2003
Messages
497
Location
Laurel Springs, NJ
Can't say that is what solved the problem, as the two are not related, but glad to see you fixed up.

536/436/ws1095/996p2/996xt/325p2/396xt/psr800/396t/HP-1/HP-2 & others
When I have the HP-2 connected to the computer before the ultimate upgrade when I got to the screen to pick mass storage device or power supply were the only choices. AFTER the upgrade the choices were Mass Storage mode and Serial Mode (Power Supply).
 

marksmith

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
4,262
Location
Anne Arundel County, MD
I have had the upgrades in my hp1 and hp2 radios pretty much since I got them. I never knew the serial option was not there at any time.

536/436/ws1095/996p2/996xt/325p2/396xt/psr800/396t/HP-1/HP-2 & others
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top