• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Ht-1250 programming question

Status
Not open for further replies.

btromp

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 30, 2013
Messages
9
Location
Eastlake, OH
You'll need to look in device manager to see what com port is assigned, then choose that com port in the CPS.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

Baker845

Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2005
Messages
182
Location
Oregon
trying usb to serial adapter from the rib box, it doesn't read the radio. the com port is correct. not sure what i need to change ??
 

N4KVE

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2003
Messages
3,298
Location
PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
Many times the computer does not get along with the chip used in the adaptor. A $50 XP laptop with a real serial port is the solution.
 

toolman60

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2015
Messages
150
Location
King and Queen Virginia
sounds like a driver problem. what version driver you installing? a lot of people having trouble with the usb prolific clone chips floating around in cables out there and use 3.2.0.0 drivers with some sucess
 

clbsquared

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 13, 2015
Messages
540
Location
Isle of Wight County
Not to sound like a smart a@#, but, is your RIB powered on? Good battery / power supply? Also for what it's worth, there are a few ribless USB cables with FTDI chipsets that work quite well with Windows 7 and WARIS series radios.

Sent from my HTC One A9 using Tapatalk
 

Baker845

Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2005
Messages
182
Location
Oregon
the rib box is on, the person i traded the radio from was using FTDI cable, the one i have is not.
 

KI7OGT

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2017
Messages
12
This might sound funny... But try licking the programming port on the radio. I've had radios read after doing that, when they would not read before.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top