HT Loudoun County

Chwithad

Premium Subscriber
I got my Tech 3 weeks ago and I'm studying for my General now. The first HT I got was a Baofeng UV5RPRO (I realize why people say they're junk lol).
A coworker recently gave me his used Icom ICV8, which is nice, but it's only 2M and is just simply old (and probably lacks other newer tech).
I don't have funds for a base right now, but wanted to hear from those who live in Leesburg/Loudoun County, VA - what HT would you get for a max of $200 that would work best in this area? I really just prefer one that's dual band & easy to program. Maybe a digital would be best vs analog for this area? Thanks in advance!

KB4SHP

Feed Provider
First of all Welcome to the Ham radio. I don’t live in the county you are asking for but I also started out with cheap ht an bought my first name brand ht few years ago it is the Yeasu ft70d and you can find them around 200 or less new great dual band and it will do fusion if you have any repeaters in your area

freqhopping

Who do you intend to talk/listen to?

A Baofeng is plenty sufficient to reach any local repeaters. There is minimal activity on DMR repeaters.

Chwithad

Premium Subscriber
Who do you intend to talk/listen to?

A Baofeng is plenty sufficient to reach any local repeaters. There is minimal activity on DMR repeaters.
I'm just not impressed with the UV5RPRO. It's basically a "listen only" radio - transmitting doesn't work on it. The roughly 20 year old Icom transmits just fine. I guess the Baofeng could just be defective, but I believe there are a lot of digital setups in my area, that's why I was curious. I want to be able to listen/talk to whoever I want to with my privileges.

freqhopping