• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

HT1000 Software Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

MotoMoMo

Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2010
Messages
39
Location
Ocean County, NJ
I have the software on CD but the problem is the windows 95 era computer cant read the cd because it is of a newer format type. I keep getting a cd103 error. I know the cd is good and such. Any ideas would be great. Thank you
 

cmdrwill

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
3,902
Location
So Cali
The HT1000 RSS will NOT run in windows, not even a DOS Window.

Got to boot you computer directly to the command prompt so it does NOT go into Windows.

Copy the RSS onto a floppy disk, remove the Read Only attribute form the files on the disk.
 

rakerland

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
35
Location
San Carlos, CA
Copy and paste to a floppy disk. I had to get an external A drive for my newer laptop to transfer to floppy disk to boot into DOS on my 95 laptop
 

MotoMoMo

Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2010
Messages
39
Location
Ocean County, NJ
Looks like thats what I'm gonna have to do, unless someone locally can help me out? What kind of 3.5 drive did you get? Connected with usb?
 

rakerland

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
35
Location
San Carlos, CA
It was an external A: drive with a USB connection. Nothing special, I paid about 20$ for the thing and a pack of Floppy Disks. It should just be able to Copy and Paste if all of the files are correct. I did have a propblem with extended memory on one of my RSS programs, you just click properties on the .Exe file and up the memory.

Check your PM I am sending you a message
 

cmdrwill

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
3,902
Location
So Cali
From the floppy you can copy the RSS files to the hard drive in a directory called: C:\MRSS\HT100.

And run from that directory.
 

b7spectra

EMS Dispatcher
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
3,151
Location
Cobb County, GA
Dang! I'm surprised the SAPS haven't jumped on this one!

Are you still in need of a CD drive? What type laptop is it? I've got several laying around in the basement.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top