• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

HT1250 and MDC1200 Signaling / volume

Status
Not open for further replies.

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
I have the above radio and all of the sudden it only sometimes decodes the MDC signal and on post only transmissions I can actually hear the signaling rather than the beep noise you usually hear.

Also, I cannot mute the audio without turning the radio off, it just lowers the audio.


Any help with this would be appreciated. I have looked through the options in the CPS but nothing appears to have been changed.
 

N1GTL

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 14, 2005
Messages
733
Location
CT
If you mean the side tone when MDC is sending, that is normally on PRE, not post. You shouldn't hear any side tones on post MDC.

What do you mean you cannot mute the audio?

I would start with updating the firmware and see if that solves it. Early models of HT1250's had lots of audio related problems initially that are solved in firmware updates. R05.13.04 is the newest.
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
Not the pre-tone. The radio gives a chirp when decoding another radio's MDC in post only mode.

The volume knob when it is turned all the way before turning it off. I can hear audio when the radio's audio should be silent.

The firmware is 05.09.06 is that too old?
 

Signal-Zero

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2004
Messages
3,137
Location
Fortified Bunker
Open CPS and click on Signaling, then MDC system. Make sure on the Basic tab you have Display Decode ID checked.

Next, click on the DOS tab.

Auto mute duration should be 500ms (default). Knock it down to 250 and let me know how that works. If you're still having problems, you can e-mail me your codeplug (pm for e-mail address).
 

N1GTL

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 14, 2005
Messages
733
Location
CT
I just checked mine with the volume all the way down. I can still hear a little of the audio coming out.

Your firmware is not that old.
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
e911god said:
Open CPS and click on Signaling, then MDC system. Make sure on the Basic tab you have Display Decode ID checked.

Next, click on the DOS tab.

Auto mute duration should be 500ms (default). Knock it down to 250 and let me know how that works. If you're still having problems, you can e-mail me your codeplug (pm for e-mail address).

The display decode id was the first place I went, but it was checked. I modified the DOS to 250 and i'll post the results.
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
N1GTL said:
I just checked mine with the volume all the way down. I can still hear a little of the audio coming out.

Your firmware is not that old.
Mine always was quiet when the knob was all the way to almost off pos. Maybe the radio just hiccuped or something?
 

mancow

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
5,935
Location
N.E. Kansas
I can't remember, does the 1250 have a zero audio level adjustment in the software? I know many other models don't allow you to actually turn it down to zero. It's a safety feature I presume, so you don't miss calls.
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
e911god said:
Open CPS and click on Signaling, then MDC system. Make sure on the Basic tab you have Display Decode ID checked.

Next, click on the DOS tab.

Auto mute duration should be 500ms (default). Knock it down to 250 and let me know how that works. If you're still having problems, you can e-mail me your codeplug (pm for e-mail address).

The DOS change made no difference. As far as the MDC signaling is concerned i'm not too worried about it, because it only seems to happen with Morristown.
 

Signal-Zero

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2004
Messages
3,137
Location
Fortified Bunker
It could be that they (Morristown) has their MDC pre-time set all the way down, so it's not giving your HT1250 enough time to decode it. The default for that is 500 ms also.

What you could try is making a separate MDC system just for them and just keep messing with the DOS settings until it mutes it almost all the way out. Then use MDC system 1 for everyone else and MDC system 2 for them. I had the same problem with an agency in Long Island and that solved the problem. Went from the annoying "squuuuuaaaaawk" to a little "bleep."

I'm in Morris County alot, so I'll throw their frequency in my HT1250 with different settings and see what works. PD frequency right ?
 
Last edited:

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
e911god said:
It could be that they (Morristown) has their MDC pre-time set all the way down, so it's not giving your HT1250 enough time to decode it. The default for that is 500 ms also.

What you could try is making a separate MDC system just for them and just keep messing with the DOS settings until it mutes it almost all the way out. Then use MDC system 1 for everyone else and MDC system 2 for them. I had the same problem with an agency in Long Island and that solved the problem. Went from the annoying "squuuuuaaaaawk" to a little "bleep."

I'm in Morris County alot, so I'll throw their frequency in my HT1250 with different settings and see what works. PD frequency right ?
Could it be just that the transmitting radio is "off"? I listen to Summit and a few others and it is fine on their systems.
 

avtarsingh

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 3, 2004
Messages
610
Location
Cyberspace
whats the easiest way -
dos auto mute duration ?
dos coast duration?
dos criteria type ?

or way to program a motorola radio to avoid hearing the mdc1200 ani noise ?

thanks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top