• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

HT1250 Programming issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

countywacker

Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2005
Messages
134
Location
Poconos PA
Hi,

I'm getting the dreaded "Couldn't open port. Check whether Device/RIB are powered on or not, and the Device to RIB, and the RIB to PC connection is OK"

Here is what I have:

Software Version R06.12.08
Windows 7 professional running on 32bit
USB cable from Polaris USA.

I've tried deleting software and drivers and re installing them. I updated the driver on the Cable. Checked COM Ports, Assigned com ports all with no luck.

I searched all over the internet with no luck.

Anyone have any ideas.

PS I'm pretty sure I tried read and tried every solution listed on this forum.
 

toolman60

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2015
Messages
233
Location
King and Queen Virginia
There has been a lot of issues with USB cables if they have counterfeit chips in them. People have been using the Prolific 3.2.0.0 drivers and getting the usb cables to work If that does not work for you I am at a loss. Maybe someone else chime in that may know more than me.
 

clbsquared

Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2015
Messages
641
Location
Isle of Wight County
FTDI cables are the way to go. Some people have good luck with prolific drivers and some don't. Get a cable with an FTDI chip set or an OEM cable and you shouldn't have any problems at all.

Sent from my HTC One A9 using Tapatalk
 

countywacker

Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2005
Messages
134
Location
Poconos PA
FTDI cables are the way to go. Some people have good luck with prolific drivers and some don't. Get a cable with an FTDI chip set or an OEM cable and you shouldn't have any problems at all.

Sent from my HTC One A9 using Tapatalk
I agree!! I own several FTDI cables myself. But this what was provided to me to use.


Good news!!! After several hours of chasing drivers "and I mean it took hours" I was able to get it to work.

Thanks for all the help everyone.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
3,620
Location
Texas
Lot to be said about using a known USB to RS-232 cable (such as an Iogear) with serial cables…


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

toolman60

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2015
Messages
233
Location
King and Queen Virginia
And another post that leads to a dead end. So many of these on all the forums. Someone has a problem
gets on a forum for help, gets it working own his own or with help from the forum and never replies their solution to getting it to work now the next person that has the problem will find a useless thread on a forum.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top