• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

HT600 Programming

Status
Not open for further replies.

mfn002

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
2,142
Location
Bryan, Texas
I have acquired a copy of the Motorola HT600 programming software. I have a rib box, and all the other hardware necessary to program this model. However, I am having difficulty establishing a connection between the RIB box and my computer. Every time I do attempt to read or send any data to or from the radio, it displays "ERROR 003". I use a USB adaptor to connect the unit to my laptop. Does anyone have any suggestions or know what this error code means?
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
11,672
Location
Central Ontario
You are using plain old dos and not a dos window?

HT600 RSS won't run under Windows so you'll need to make sure you're using an older computer running dos.
 

mfn002

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
2,142
Location
Bryan, Texas
I have downloaded the software from a site online. It seems to work fine, and I can program files into the software, but I can't seem to send them.
 

kb8ukl

Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2006
Messages
2
The software will work fine in windows, but you won't be able to talk to the radio unless you are running it in ms dos.
 

Josh

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2002
Messages
738
Location
Wyandotte Michigan
The problem is that you're trying to use a USB port. You must use serial only, either 9 pin or 25 pin.

Furthermore, the HT600 is old, VERY old, like from the 80's, the RSS was made for a really old computer running around 25Mhz and DOS-only. Anything more than 25Mhz will bring you nothing but trouble.

-Josh
 

KE7TJK

Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2005
Messages
0
Location
S.E. Washington State
You need to be running the software on an old computer that runs DOS only.

I have experienced yor exact problems until I aquired an old laptop.

No problems at all using the old laptop with the serial port.
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
11,672
Location
Central Ontario
This software will not work under Windows. You must reboot into dos.

No DOS windows or DOS mode!!

The usb-serial converter is probably a no go as well.

Grab yourself an old computer with dos and serial ports and use that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top