• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Hytera Repairs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Forts

Mentor
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
5,915
Location
Ontario, Canada
Anyone familiar with getting repairs on a Hytera radio? I've got a PD362 that has something wonky with it's power circuit... The radio works fine, but basically won't turn off (well, it does turn off but always shows a full battery indicator on the screen.... which kills the battery even though the radio is 'off'). It also seems to take forever to charge. I'd love to get it repaired but obviously I'm not going to sink hundreds of $$ into service fees on a radio I got for < $200.

Any dealers here familiar with the process for Hytera? Flat rate service, etc?

Thanks!
 

MSS-Dave

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
371
Location
Generally Central Florida
Hytera has flat rate repair on those particular radios. They require an RMA to ship back for service. I do not know if you can deal directly with them as a consumer but any Hytera dealer should be able to handle that for you. I have a flat rate price but I don't know if it is a dealer cost or if it is a retail cost I'll have to check on that.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
 

MSS-Dave

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
371
Location
Generally Central Florida
To add to this post, I see you upgraded your radio in another thread, did this problem start happening after you upgraded the firmware version?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
 

Forts

Mentor
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
5,915
Location
Ontario, Canada
I understand where you are coming from, but what about it is junk? Is the Moto SL line junk then as well since it's a similar tier radio? It's not like it's a Tytera/Baofeng cheap radio... it's a great performing radio that's super low profile and easy to slip into a pocket. You have to remember not everyone uses these for ham... I use this on in house systems where I work and RX only elsewhere. And for the record I also have an XPR7550 and PD782, so if I want a full featured radio then I'll grab one of those. If I don't want to lug that around, then I have the option of a little guy that I can slip into my back pocket.
 

romanr

Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
136
Location
Cheese country
Hytera is not Tytera. Hytera makes public service grade/commercial grade radios that are used in large volumes across the world.

Where do you think APX and XPR radios are made these days?

(I had batwings on my paycheck for almost 20 years and I still think they make very, very good equipment. They just don't make it in the U.S. anymore.)
 

romanr

Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
136
Location
Cheese country
Bingo!

The point being that nearly everyone makes their radios in Asia, including mother M. The issue isn't the geographic location of the plant, it's the quality of the design, the materials used, and the attention paid to quality of assembly.

Most Motorola batteries, almost all of their accessories, and even some of their radios are made in China.
 

Your_account

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
1,261
Location
.AT
I may be a jerk but I truly can't understand why anybody would buy cheap chinese garbage radios.
Thats simple becouse the Company like Motorola, Hytera never replayed on my Mails even when the was coming from our official E-Mail Address. The same for Repair and other stuff the never replay.
 

N4KVE

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2003
Messages
3,359
Location
PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
I own a Harris HDP150 that's a rebadged Hytera PD782 that I got from Forts a few years ago. A great radio. But when I asked my friend who works for Hytera in Mirimar Florida about buying a 362, he told me it was junk, & to avoid it. It's the bastard red headed step child made by Hytera. Totally different radio, & CPS from everything else they make. I was able to buy a new one for $175, but the antenna really sucks on them, so I didn't. A local guy was able to install a SMA connector on his, & by using a proper antenna, performance improved greatly. The proper procedure is to send your radio to a dealer, & he forwards it to Hytera.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
815
Try loading the firmware again, and try an older version if that doesn't work. I had a PD682 that had a similar problem, that's what Roger and his fellow techs at the Irvine shop did when I did an RMA repair.

Most (maybe all) Hytera radios have a 3 year warranty and 5 years as an option.
 

ElroyJetson

I AM NOT YOUR TECH SUPPPORT.
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
2,524
Location
DO NOT ASK ME FOR HELP PROGRAMMING YOUR RADIO. NO.
Malaysia is very much a top tier electronics manufacturer. I've never once seen Malaysian made electronics that weren't built to very high quality standards.

But China...they make the Mag One BPR40 which isn't good enough for ANYBODY. Least of all Motorola, which owns the Mag One brand.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2004
Messages
182
Location
Ocean County, NJ
I have a PD782 (I know it's a different line). I have my radio configured so it can't accidently turn off. If I want it off, I turn the volume to off, then I have to hold the red button on the radio for a few seconds. Any chance this radio may be programmed similarly?

Sent from my IdeaTab S6000-F using Tapatalk
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top