• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

i bought a wrong antenna, help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

nattybohhoe

Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2006
Messages
74
Location
Baltimore
hey i gota bct15 base scanner and the antenna i bought is a ham radio. and its gota screw on end connection ( the end that goes into the scanner ) cna i change that to fit hte bct15?
 

Grog

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,959
Location
West of Charlotte NC
Sure. What antenna did you buy? or can you provide a pictute of the connector?

Most likely, the antenna has a PL259 connector, and a simple adaptor is avaiable at radioshack, as well as various ham radio and scanner sales companies.



If the connector on your antenna (or coax) looks like this


Then you would use this To connect them.



The radioshack part number is 278-120

The link is...
http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2062626&cp=&origkw=pl259+bnc&kw=pl259+bnc&parentPage=search
 
Last edited:

Grog

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,959
Location
West of Charlotte NC
nattybohhoe said:
yeah thats it ok, thanks so they do make adapaters? or should i cut the end and put a bnc on there? thanks
I was editing my post to provide more info, and the RS link is added as well.

I just use the adaptors. They add a small ammount of signal loss, but not enough for 99% of users to worry about.
 

nattybohhoe

Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2006
Messages
74
Location
Baltimore
ohok lol thanks. i called my local radioshack and they dont have it :( so i dno guess i gota order it offline, will it mess with performance when i use an adapteR
 

Grog

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,959
Location
West of Charlotte NC
If your store is close, you can just have them to order and it can be sent to the store for free. If they ship it to you, they'll probably charge more in shipping than what it's gonna cost.

There is a small loss of signal, but it would not be noticed by 99% of users. What bands are you going to be using the scanner to listen to the most?
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
21,891
Location
Bowie, Md.
I hope you don't plan on monitoring Harford or Baltimore city with the BCT15; it won't do it....however it will handle Baltimore county and - for now, at least - Anne Arundel...

73s Mike
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top