I JUST FOUND OUT I BOUGHT A $700 PAPER WEIGHT

Status
Not open for further replies.

pro96clown

Quick history: I also own a PRO96. Back in November of 2019, the 96 stopped receiving traffic in my County of San Diego. After further research, it turned out these county systems went to P25 so the 96 was now worthless. Fast forward to last week. I purchased an SDS 100. Beautiful machine, love the display. For a few days, I studied the instruction manual, looked at youtube videos, and posted on the Uniden forum

Finally, got an idea on how to program manually. Created a a faves list and put in Control Channels and TGIDs for my city, El Cajon. It worked beautifully for the county. But no El Cajon. Went back in and removed the DECs. Still no EC. So I created a 2nd list with a small change: added TDMA.. Still no EC

I went back to YouTube, dude with a scanner and watched it closely. And I got one clue: He said, be wary of Radio Ref, they sometimes have bad listings, And darn it, he was right! The city of El Cajon went full encryption a looooong time ago and Rad Ref still hasnt updated their listing reflecting that. If I known that i wouldn't have bought this puppy. Oh well, I live I learn

Maybe a Rad Ref admin can update the list

Regards

KE5MC

Premium Subscriber
In the same system Chula Vista shows encrypted and I'm surprised El Cajon shows no encryption. Best to use the database in Sentinel to create the Favorites List. As I read the OP's post my impression is Favorites List was not 'program' created. Tricky to get all the data setup manually. Yes, the RR database can be behind/out of date. Data comes from users in the field, db only as good as the input. Maybe someone in your area can confirm encryption.

wa8pyr

Technischer Guru
Staff member
Lead Database Admin