I upgraded my 996P2 with DMR and not hearing alot but its reading it?????

Status
Not open for further replies.

ScanMaine

Active Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 24, 2013
Messages
1,482
Location
Lewiston Maine
WHat am I doing wrong? My radio is picking up on DMR logged freqs and also freqs with CC codes but no noise? Im very frustrated now

PLEASE HELP!! What should i be running for a threshold?? Any help is thank full
 
Last edited:

ScanMaine

Active Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 24, 2013
Messages
1,482
Location
Lewiston Maine
Are they in private mode?

Sent from my VS986 using Tapatalk
What Do you mean?


Im doing a search manually from 150 to 174 and from 450 to 470 and they hit them but no noise at all, Sometimes i get a CC Code or the word DMR but if I hit a p25 site it whits them all the time and the voice is clear and crisp
 

Drumbum

Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
358
Location
Lynchburg Va
A conventional DMR will transmit even when no one is talking , maybe it's a low traffic system and no one has talked ,

Sent from my VS986 using Tapatalk
 

ScanMaine

Active Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 24, 2013
Messages
1,482
Location
Lewiston Maine
I dont know but im not happy. I will have to call Scanner Master tomorrow. Im hitting DMR stuff into NH and VT and no voice at all.
 

Drumbum

Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
358
Location
Lynchburg Va
What is your signal strength when it does hit , it usally has to be more than 2 bars to pick up

Sent from my VS986 using Tapatalk
 

Drumbum

Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
358
Location
Lynchburg Va
I had to use a roof antenna on my car to pick up a 100 watt trunking system just across town

Sent from my VS986 using Tapatalk
 

Drumbum

Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
358
Location
Lynchburg Va
I see no signature with the tapatalk app on my phone, yes 5 bars is plenty, how long you been trying to monitor a single frquency?

Sent from my VS986 using Tapatalk
 

ScanMaine

Active Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 24, 2013
Messages
1,482
Location
Lewiston Maine
I see no signature with the tapatalk app on my phone, yes 5 bars is plenty, how long you been trying to monitor a single frquency?

Sent from my VS986 using Tapatalk
3 days and my sig says Up on a huge hill with a tower 100ft in the air!
 

Drumbum

Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
358
Location
Lynchburg Va
LOL well that should work, hope it's not encrypted , I've never ran across one thats in private so I don't know what shows up on the screen of the scanner

Sent from my VS986 using Tapatalk
 

Drumbum

Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
358
Location
Lynchburg Va
Too bad you don't have a RTL/SDR to keep on same channels and compare, or do you?

Sent from my VS986 using Tapatalk
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top