• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

IC-2730A Cross Band Repeat?

ClemsonSCJ

Member
Joined
May 29, 2018
Messages
203
I’m wanting to set up the cross band repeat function on my radio and have watched several videos on YouTube about how to set it up but I had a few questions that they didn’t answer.
1) does the radio care which band you are starting on and going to. Apparently most of the time you transmit on UHF and the radio repeats it on VHF. But the repeater I’d be wanting to get to is a 440 repeater so I’d want to talk to my radio on 2m and have it rebroadcast on 70CM. Is this possible?
2) can I select programmed channels for each band or do I have to manually set the frequency, offset, and tone?
 

FKimble

Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2014
Messages
294
Location
Newnan, GA
crossband is a 2 way street. If you initiate the transmission from your HT then it's VHF to UHF. If you respond to a call from the repeater, it's the other way. Doesn't matter.
You should be able to program a memory slot for your crossband. I use Kenwood and have several slots setup for which ever repeater I might want to crossband to.

Frank
 

ClemsonSCJ

Member
Joined
May 29, 2018
Messages
203
crossband is a 2 way street. If you initiate the transmission from your HT then it's VHF to UHF. If you respond to a call from the repeater, it's the other way. Doesn't matter.
You should be able to program a memory slot for your crossband. I use Kenwood and have several slots setup for which ever repeater I might want to crossband to.

Frank
Thanks.
 

WB9YBM

Active Member
Joined
May 6, 2019
Messages
1,392
The easiest thing to do might be to just link two mobiles together...the "COR" signals shown in the schematic come from the radios' LED that turns on when the squelch opens. The reason for the key-up delay is to avoid a transmitter toggling on during a noise burst (like when the squelch opens briefly as a radio toggles from transmit back to receive). (While I was at it, I added a 1-second "hang" timer.) (U4, 5, 3, & 6 provide a 3 minute time-out..)
PTT logic.jpg
 

ClemsonSCJ

Member
Joined
May 29, 2018
Messages
203
The easiest thing to do might be to just link two mobiles together...the "COR" signals shown in the schematic come from the radios' LED that turns on when the squelch opens. The reason for the key-up delay is to avoid a transmitter toggling on during a noise burst (like when the squelch opens briefly as a radio toggles from transmit back to receive). (While I was at it, I added a 1-second "hang" timer.) (U4, 5, 3, & 6 provide a 3 minute time-out..)
View attachment 102944
What exactly does the hang time function do?
 

WB9YBM

Active Member
Joined
May 6, 2019
Messages
1,392
What exactly does the hang time function do?
When an incoming signal drops out of the repeater / link, the repeater's transmitter stays on ("hangs") briefly. That's mainly done so that if a signal coming into the repeater is weak and "flutters" in and out of the repeater's receiver, the repeater output won't toggle on and off.
 

W5GX

Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2018
Messages
75
I’m wanting to set up the cross band repeat function on my radio and have watched several videos on YouTube about how to set it up but I had a few questions that they didn’t answer.
1) does the radio care which band you are starting on and going to. Apparently most of the time you transmit on UHF and the radio repeats it on VHF. But the repeater I’d be wanting to get to is a 440 repeater so I’d want to talk to my radio on 2m and have it rebroadcast on 70CM. Is this possible?
2) can I select programmed channels for each band or do I have to manually set the frequency, offset, and tone?
1. The 2730 will retransmit from either band. I.e. - if it hears transmission on band A, it will repeat on band B; and if it hears transmission on band B, it will repeat on band A. As far as I know, there is no way to change this. This is why it's CRITICAL that you set up any CTCSS or DCS tones so that trash or other traffic doesn't clogs up the frequencies.

If you want to use a 440 repeater, it's likely that your HT will be able to hear the output of the 440 repeater - it would be best to set up your HT with an odd split - transmit on the 2m frequency that the 2730 listens on, but set it up to receive the 440 repeater output frequency. Then you'll setup the 2730 to listen on your 2m frequency (simplex) and then transmit on the input frequency of the repeater (also simplex) - you have to tweak it for an odd split. Be sure the 2730's 2m and your HT have the same CTCSS. If the HT can't receive the 440 repeater, select the normal preset for that repeater, and it should be okay.

2. You can use any preprogrammed frequency if you'd like, or program specific "local" cross band frequencies. I programmed some "local" cross band presets, in various arrangement so I can utilize either or both frequencies as needed. You can tune manually for either or both bands as well. You have to select the frequencies you want before you enable cross band repeat.

Some testing with a fellow ham friend would help.

As a note - when the 2730 is in cross band repeat mode, you can still transmit from the hand mic, following the normal "Main" band setting - and that can still be changed.
 

ClemsonSCJ

Member
Joined
May 29, 2018
Messages
203
1. The 2730 will retransmit from either band. I.e. - if it hears transmission on band A, it will repeat on band B; and if it hears transmission on band B, it will repeat on band A. As far as I know, there is no way to change this. This is why it's CRITICAL that you set up any CTCSS or DCS tones so that trash or other traffic doesn't clogs up the frequencies.

If you want to use a 440 repeater, it's likely that your HT will be able to hear the output of the 440 repeater - it would be best to set up your HT with an odd split - transmit on the 2m frequency that the 2730 listens on, but set it up to receive the 440 repeater output frequency. Then you'll setup the 2730 to listen on your 2m frequency (simplex) and then transmit on the input frequency of the repeater (also simplex) - you have to tweak it for an odd split. Be sure the 2730's 2m and your HT have the same CTCSS. If the HT can't receive the 440 repeater, select the normal preset for that repeater, and it should be okay.

2. You can use any preprogrammed frequency if you'd like, or program specific "local" cross band frequencies. I programmed some "local" cross band presets, in various arrangement so I can utilize either or both frequencies as needed. You can tune manually for either or both bands as well. You have to select the frequencies you want before you enable cross band repeat.

Some testing with a fellow ham friend would help.

As a note - when the 2730 is in cross band repeat mode, you can still transmit from the hand mic, following the normal "Main" band setting - and that can still be changed.
Wow that was A LOT of good info! Thanks!
 

rescuecomm

Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2005
Messages
1,047
Location
Travelers Rest, SC
Thats what I do with my Kenwood TM-V710 except I use the locked band mode. This is one way only, but keeps the mobiles key up time to a minimum.
 
Top