• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

IC-F4026S RX on

mmckenna

I really ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
17,383
Location
Pt. Nemo
If any one have any idea why my radio have the rx allways on and the channel is idle.
Not sure what you are asking….

Is the green LED showing it's receiving a signal always on?
Are you hearing static constantly through the speaker?
 

leyendaoculta

Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
16
Location
Caguas, PR
The squelch is adjusted and fine, and the radio has no tx, the last day it worked fine was yesterday at work. After i come to home i powered on to put some frequencies for use and commenced with this problem.
 

mmckenna

I really ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
17,383
Location
Pt. Nemo
The squelch is adjusted and fine, and the radio has no tx, the last day it worked fine was yesterday at work. After i come to home i powered on to put some frequencies for use and commenced with this problem.
Well, if you are hearing static and the RX light is on, it's thinking it's hearing something. It's either interference or the squelch is too loose.
 

mmckenna

I really ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
17,383
Location
Pt. Nemo
But the radio has no tx anyway
Doesn't matter. The squelch adjustment is for the RECEIVE side. Even scanners have a squelch setting, and they don't even have a transmitter.

If you are hearing constant static and the green RX lamp is lit, then it needs to have it's squelch adjusted.
 

mmckenna

I really ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
17,383
Location
Pt. Nemo
If any one have any idea why my radio have the rx allways on and the channel is idle.
The squelch is open all the time and no tx. No transmit to other radios

I think there's some misunderstanding going on here….

So, you are saying your radio is constantly showing it is receiving a signal, even when it's not?

— That is a squelch setting issue.

You keep saying "no TX". Not sure if you mean the radio isn't programmed to transmit, or it won't transmit.

— could be that it has a busy channel lockout function programmed into it. If it does, it will NOT allow you to transmit as long as the radio thinks it is recieving something. This is something that is done in the radio programming. It's call "BCL" or "Busy Channel Lockout" and it's there to keep radio users from transmitting while someone else is.


You need your squelch adjusted.
 

12dbsinad

Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
1,547
Your squelch is probably set to zero, keeping the radio unsquelched constantly. You won't hear the noise if you have RX PL or DPL. Jack the squelch up like mmckenna recommended.

Keep in mind, Icom at one time sent radios with the squelch set to zero.
 

leyendaoculta

Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
16
Location
Caguas, PR
Ok the radio is programmed to transmmit i put the squelch to the max. The max value is 255 and i have the same problem the radio is receiving all time and no tx
 

mmckenna

I really ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
17,383
Location
Pt. Nemo
Ok the radio is programmed to transmmit i put the squelch to the max. The max value is 255 and i have the same problem the radio is receiving all time and no tx
What happens if you remove the antenna? Does the noise go away?

Does the noise go away if you go to a different location?
 

mmckenna

I really ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
17,383
Location
Pt. Nemo
No the noise is present
Well, that means that there is either something wrong with the radio, or you have a very strong interfering signal nearby.

If the radio belongs to your employer, take it back to them and let them know there's something wrong with it. It's not something you can fix using advice off a hobby website.
 
Top