Icom: Icom-7100 "RF tap Panadapter"

kd2goe

Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
163
Location
Buffalo
Looking for info on using the RF Tap Board on the Icom-7100
There is a RF line in the Icom-7100 that you can tap off to run to an SDR play. The problem is it all so has Low level RF on the Line when in transmit.
so i want to use RF Tap Board help to block this RF from getting in to the SDRplay.

This is the info I found but I would like to have some thing in there to protect my SDR play.

I want to use this The PAT V RF Tap Board it is the same board I used in my TS-2000 with my SDRplay


all so I need to find a control line on the IC-7100 that will go high when in receive and low when transmitting.
 

kd2goe

Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
163
Location
Buffalo
BUMP

any one that can help me on where I can tap for power on the 7100 when its high in TX and drops to low in RX?
 

belvdr

Active Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
1,154
Not sure it is what you want but could examining either of the commercial products from Radio Spectral or Radio Analog help you?
 

kd2goe

Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
163
Location
Buffalo
Not sure it is what you want but could examining either of the commercial products from Radio Spectral or Radio Analog help you?
I need a +8 or +12v line when its in receive to power the Buffer board in the first post.
when I'm in transmit I need to cut the power to the board cant pass the Low level transmitting RF to the SDR




EDIT!~!!!

Any one that can help me on where I can tap for power on the 7100 when its high in RX and drops to low in TX?

OPPS! i had it backwards
 

AK9R

Lead Wiki Manager
Super Moderator
Joined
Jul 18, 2004
Messages
7,323
Location
Central Indiana
From page 1-19 in the Full Manual (downloadable from Icom's website):
1636728334858.png
HSEND goes low when the transceiver is transmitting and high when the transceiver is receiving. The color code refers to the accessory cable supplied with the radio.

Also, if you use HSEND (or VSEND) to drive a relay, you must include a diode to short the back EMF from the relay when it de-energizes:
1636728293694.png
 

kd2goe

Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
163
Location
Buffalo
From page 1-19 in the Full Manual (downloadable from Icom's website):
View attachment 112170
HSEND goes low when the transceiver is transmitting and high when the transceiver is receiving. The color code refers to the accessory cable supplied with the radio.

Also, if you use HSEND (or VSEND) to drive a relay, you must include a diode to short the back EMF from the relay when it de-energizes:
View attachment 112169
thanks I was looking at the manual and I was a bit confused I installed a buffer board on my TS-2000 to run my SDRplay no problem.

ok so I need pin 7 it's High when in receiving and droops down to 0 in TX its 6.9v so that shod be good to power the Buffer board.

ill report back if this all works with pics.
 

kd2goe

Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
163
Location
Buffalo
As long as the buffer board draws less than 200 mA.
the Buffer board pulls 11ma
and this will not work if I load down pun 7 it puts the Radio in to TX so I'm back to square 1
 
Last edited:

kd2goe

Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
163
Location
Buffalo
going to try to use a PNP and a NPN off the PTT line to pass the 12V to the Buffer
 

kd2goe

Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
163
Location
Buffalo
Ones you go SDR waterfall you never go back.

It worked so well in my Kenwood TS-2000 I had to do it to my Icom IC-7100 so I Installed an RF Tap buffer and it works well from HF TO UHF
This is tapping in to the RF chain not the IF and you use software like omni-rig to sync every thing up together.

I tapped in to the PTT line and Because the PTT line is only 6v and is pulled to ground to transmit I can't have a load on it or it will key the Radio I put a Transistor on the PTT line is in an emitter follower config with a 5.1K resistor on the base.
because the voltage coming out of the Transistor is to low I need to get that up so the 5v is then turning on an optocoupler that will pass the 12+ volts that I have current limited with a 500ohm resister to 9+V for the RF Buffer.











 

kd2goe

Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
163
Location
Buffalo
well thanks to the admins all the links to the 1 post i sent out to some people are broken now..
would have just been nicer to just Delete the OG thread since the info was going nowhere.
 
Top