ICOM Announces their new D-Star Radio for 2014 - ICOM IC-5100D

Status
Not open for further replies.

W2GLD

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 20, 2003
Messages
537
Location
Pinckney, Michigan U.S.A.
Scheduled to be available in later February, ICOM Worldwide announces an new addition to their successful D-Star Digital lineup for Amateur Radio.

The ICOM IC-5100 / IC-5100D Dual Band 2-Meter (VHF) and 70-CM (UHF) Mobile Radio

http://www.icom.co.jp/release/20140130/

IW5EDI Simone – Ham-Radio | Icom ID-5100

Main Features Include:

  • Touch Screen Operation
  • True Dual D-Star Digital Receive (Both Left & Right side of the radio)
  • Optional Bluetooth
  • Preprogrammed D-Star Digital Repeaters List
  • And more...

This is the replacement for the ICOM IC-2820H Dual Band Mobile... More to follow as press releases hit the internet!

73...

Jerry, W2GLD
 
Last edited:

airems

Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
71
Location
Florida
Nice radio with a nice price tag. What's the usual time frame for type acceptance by FCC now days?
 

N8OHU

Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2012
Messages
620
If they can pull off all of the features, it's going to make the FTM-400DR look pitiful. It might not have a color screen, but I really don't need that if it ends up as readable as it looks in the images I've seen so far.
 

n8emr

Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2005
Messages
495
How about a reasonable priced icom dual band radio..... Dont care about dstar.....
 

W2GLD

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 20, 2003
Messages
537
Location
Pinckney, Michigan U.S.A.
How about a reasonable priced icom dual band radio..... Dont care about dstar.....
Not likely as the push to move towards digital is going to expand from ALL manufacturers soon... The days of analog are about to become history...

Whatever your flavor, be it D-Star, NXDN, MOTOTRBO (DMR), Project-25; digital is here and will only get bigger within the ham bands, INCLUDING HF soon...

BTW, for those who do not know, EVERY D-Star radio also still support analog FM both 25.0 kHz. and 12.5 kHz. bandwidth, as for most NXDN and DMR radios. You can still have your cake and eat it to; it's just time to upgrade to newer equipment.

Those who still run old radios that don't even have PL board will just be left behind in the dust... I mean seriously now, it's 2014 and it's time to retire those 1970's and 80's radios for cooler technology that is bringing new life to an otherwise dying hobby... If amateur radio is to survive, EVERYONE has to be willing to adapt and work towards the common goal of experimentation in technology in order to keep moving forward; if you want a private chat line for the good'ol boys, there's always CB and FRS radio.
 

KE5MC

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
845
Location
Lewisville, TX
My first impression of the screen was that it is the same as a IC-7100 which I have, just a different height to width ratio. Used inside just like the IC-7000 I sold, but very readable (IC-7100).
Mike

If they can pull off all of the features, it's going to make the FTM-400DR look pitiful. It might not have a color screen, but I really don't need that if it ends up as readable as it looks in the images I've seen so far.
 
Last edited:

W9BU

Lead Wiki Manager
Super Moderator
Joined
Jul 18, 2004
Messages
5,886
Location
Brownsburg, Indiana
Folks, this thread is about the new Icom dual-band D-Star mobile radio. Let's stay on topic.
 

robertmac

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
2,150
As usual, the price quoted for digital radios will leave a lot out of the picture and not just for OM. If the audio is not any better than the other D-Star I'm afraid it will not make be interested.
 

Kasmus

Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2004
Messages
117
Location
Europe
I wonder if they fixed the RFI-issue that caused the PTT to get stuck on the 2820.
 

AE7Q

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
130
Location
Mill Creek, WA
Waiting ...

...
This is the replacement for the ICOM IC-2820H Dual Band Mobile
It's about time. I like my IC-2820H, but it needs an upgrade. I know I'll have to route a new control head cable (presumably shielded 8-conductor rather than 4), but I hope the mounting bracket is the same (or at least will mount in the same holes in the foot).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top