• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

ICOM F5201 and 2 meter?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mjz55

Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2011
Messages
98
Location
PA & NJ, USA
Is it possible to add a couple 2 meter ham frequencies to this radio? I know it's not considered a ham but is it possible and if so, how do I set it up in programming?
 

KD0LDK

Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2011
Messages
192
Location
Manhattan, KS
Looks like the frequency range is 136-174, assuming you have a HAM license you should be good to go.
 

stevelton

Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
359
First, type in the frequency you want to receive. Then type in the frequency you want to transmit, then type in or select from the list the pl tone you may or may not need to transmit, and boom, there you go.
I use the F5021 for 2m ham all the time.

Steven
 

KD0LDK

Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2011
Messages
192
Location
Manhattan, KS
There should be a receive and transmit input. You'll have to determine what the offset is for the frequency. 2m is always .6 mhz.

Kyle
 

mjz55

Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2011
Messages
98
Location
PA & NJ, USA
I have offsets of 6.73500, 1.50000, 7.87500, some of the Marine Bands have Offsets of 4.60000 and also some other frequencies have offsets of 600. I'm using the CS-F3020/F5010/F5020 Revision 3.2 software. I imputed the RX and TX frequencies and selected narrowband. I also added the C.Tone RX and TX. I don't see where to do anything with the offset Frequencies I mentioned above. This is my first time doing this.
 

KD0LDK

Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2011
Messages
192
Location
Manhattan, KS
Hmm, I can't really picture the software. Anyway you could take a screenshot of it?

You should be able to manually input the RX and TX frequencies without messing with pre-determined offsets. 2M ham offset is always .6 Mhz, it just depends whether it's + or - .6mhz

- Kyle
 

mjz55

Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2011
Messages
98
Location
PA & NJ, USA
Yes I can input rx and tx frequencies. May be a stupid question, but must I add or deduct from the frequency for frequency offset and input to rx and tx?
 

KD0LDK

Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2011
Messages
192
Location
Manhattan, KS
Yea you'll have to do it manually. Now obviously if you're running a simplex channel, they'll have the same input/output. Here are the standard offsets.

2-Meter Repeater Output Frequency Standard Input Frequency Offset
145.1 MHz - 145.5 MHz -600 kHz
146.0 MHz - 146.4 MHz +600 kHz
146.6 MHz - 147.0 MHz -600 kHz
147.0 MHz - 147.4 MHz +600 kHz
147.6 MHz - 148.0 MHz -600 kHz

Source: Standard 2-Meter Amateur Radio Repeater Input Frequency Offsets
 

mjz55

Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2011
Messages
98
Location
PA & NJ, USA
Sorta kinda. Maybe if I give you an example. I'm taking the info off a IC-V8000 programming list. It has Receive Frequency of 150.7000 with offset frequency of 7.87500 Transmit Frequency of 142.82500 and Offset Direction of -DUP with No Offset Reverse.

Would I set both RX and TX at 142.82500?
 

KD0LDK

Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2011
Messages
192
Location
Manhattan, KS
Sorta kinda. Maybe if I give you an example. I'm taking the info off a IC-V8000 programming list. It has Receive Frequency of 150.7000 with offset frequency of 7.87500 Transmit Frequency of 142.82500 and Offset Direction of -DUP with No Offset Reverse.

Would I set both RX and TX at 142.82500?
Well it depends what you're trying to do. 150.7 is a commercial frequency not a HAM frequency. If you don't want to operate on a repeater, make the RX and TX the same. If you're operating on a repeater you'll need to factor in the .6 Mhz +/- offset. Amateur radio on 2M will ALWAYS have .6 Mhz offset, nothing else.

As an example. The local Manhattan, KS repeater is KS0HAM operating on 147.255 with a PL tone of 88.5 Mhz. This frequency advertised is the RECEIVE. Now, looking at the key I provided 147.255 qualifies for a (+) offset. So your settings would be as follows..

REPEATER CALL: KS0MAN
RECEIVE FREQ: 147.255
TRANSMIT FREQ: 147.855
PL TONE: 88.5 Mhz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top