ICOM IC-R30 - Scan Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

payj

Premium Subscriber
Hello,

I am new to radios in general and decided to get myself the R30 and SDS100.

With the SDS100 I am able to turn it on and scan all trunked systems in my area right out the gate. How do I activate a "quick" startup with the R30? Or is it more designed to be programed right away? I was looking for just a general scan button so it could scan all trunked systems (that it has) along with all the other frequencies at one time.

Can someone please give me a few pointers on how to do that? The manual did not offer to much in this regard.

Thank you!

CQ

You probably don't want to enter 2,000 memories manually so you may start off with programming software that's $25 bucks and see if that works for you. You won't be able to trunk track with the R30. You can copy/paste from the SDS100 config as well. Their software has a RR import feature but haven't used that myself. Others may be able to chime in on how good it works on this receiver. Unfortunately Uniden spoiled you.

WCS-R30 Programming Software

payj

Premium Subscriber
Got it. Sort of what I thought when I read reviews. The Uniden specialized in trunking and was very user friendly. The Icom, while does do limited trunking is more known for covering all traditional bands (wide band) and was a bit more universal or "open". This meant that you specifically had to know more or less what you were looking for in terms of channels. is that correct? Which is why I purchased both.

With that said, I thought it might have a scan feature for all of its channels that you could utilize but would not know what channel it was per say.

Are there any good software(s) available for Mac? I can probably get access to a PC, but Mac would be easier.

Any pointers on how to get started would be very helpful. To say I am in over my head a bit would be an understatement! I guess I am jumping in with both feet here ha.