R75 ICOM IC-R75

Dextro32

ICOM IC-R75 Advice Please I am new to shortwave listening and I have decided to Purchase the above model Receiver any help would be greatly appreciated Thank you

w2xq

Mentor
ICOM IC-R75 Advice Please I am new to shortwave listening and I have decided to Purchase the above model Receiver any help would be greatly appreciated Thank you
It is an older radio introduced in 1999. A memory cell may need replacing. I wouldn't touch it if used by a smoker or it was modified by a previous user. I have no idea of pricing these days, but the price will vary depending upon any additional filters and accessories that are installed. Accessories may be in short supply; the software most likely would not run on current Windows PCs.

You might was to read a review I wrote in 2000, appearing on the Radio Netherlands' Media Network webpages: RECEIVER REVIEW: ICOM IC-R75 – Medium Wave Circle

Today I would opt to run the receiver on an external non-switching power supply, such as the Astrons. I use a 20A power supply that powered a number of receivers and desktop accessories at once; everything runs cooler.

I reviewed other receivers in years past, and you might be interested in the PDF "radios on the table" : W2XQ.com : Bibliography

HTH a bit.

Last edited:

vagrant

ker-muhj-uhn
Premium Subscriber
1. Coaxial cable will help to connect an outdoor antenna to your radio. Ensure it has the proper connectors for your radio and antenna.