ICOM IC-R8600 V1.10 USA Firmware Update Issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

escortz28

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 29, 2004
Messages
174
Location
Powell, Ohio
I encountered an issue in attempting to upgrade firmware to V1.10 USA.

My USA ICOM IC-R8600 had V1.02 factory installed. I downloaded both the USA and non-USA versions from ICOM's firmware update web site, links as follow (USA and non-USA respectively):

Firmware Updates / Software Downloads | Support | Icom Inc

Firmware Updates / Software Downloads | Support | Icom Inc

I am able to update to V1.10 non-USA with no issue; on reboot receiver indicates V1.10. I am not able to update with V1.10 USA, receive an "Invalid data" message when I select the .dat file on the IC-R8600 firmware update screen. This occurs if I attempt to update from either V1.02 or from non-USA V1.10. From ICOM firmware site, I noticed V1.01 and V1.02 were common for all markets. The V1.10 is the first that is indicated for different markets.

I reformatted the SDHC card in the receiver, did a fresh download of V1.10 USA from the ICOM web site, unzipped the firmware file, and loaded the .dat file in the IC-R8600 folder on the SDHC memory card (root level in the IC-R8600 folder). Still received "invalid data" message when I attempt to upgrade the firmware.

Has anyone else experienced success in updating to V1.10 USA or encountered a similar issue?
 

RFI-EMI-GUY

Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2013
Messages
4,069
Does the radio still work? Assuming you are in the USA why would you load non USA firmware? OK I think I know. However some other markets are even more restrictive than the USA.

Sent from my SM-T350 using Tapatalk
 

escortz28

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 29, 2004
Messages
174
Location
Powell, Ohio
Yes, the receiver is still functional.

I loaded the non USA V1.10 since the USA V1.10 had the error, and the version notes were the same between the two.

I've confirmed that you can also roll back and load a previous version, e.g. V1.10 -> V1.02, with no issues.
 

escortz28

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 29, 2004
Messages
174
Location
Powell, Ohio
Hi Eric,

Thanks for the reply. The CS-R8600 V1.10 is a PC application update vs. a receiver firmware upgrade, the ICOM R8600 Cloning Software. I have yet to find a vendor who has the CS-R8600 in stock yet (though at least two are showing on their website).

Has anyone found the CS-R8600 in stock?
 

EricCottrell

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Nov 8, 2002
Messages
2,375
Location
Boston, Ma
Hello,

Sorry, I misread the instruction.

Does your radio have a serial number in the "02xxxxxx" series? Maybe you do not have what Icom considers the USA version.

73 Eric
 

escortz28

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 29, 2004
Messages
174
Location
Powell, Ohio
Thanks again Eric. My S/N starts 04x which is above the stated 02x requirement. Definitely a USA model (box indicates USA model, receiver has FCC labeling, purchased from an authorized USA vendor, Ham Radio Outlet). I plan on contacting ICOM, will report back to this Forum and thread.
 

Token

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
2,151
Location
Mojave Desert, California, USA
Thanks again Eric. My S/N starts 04x which is above the stated 02x requirement. Definitely a USA model (box indicates USA model, receiver has FCC labeling, purchased from an authorized USA vendor, Ham Radio Outlet). I plan on contacting ICOM, will report back to this Forum and thread.
Let me preface the below with "I think":

The -04 model, that is serials starting with 04, should be the unblocked gov only model. It would be a US version, with FCC label, but NOT intended for sale to the general public. It might not take the same firmware as the -02 model, the normal US commercial market model.

I am not sure which firmware the -04 model would take, but it would not surprise me if it took the international firmware, since the -04 unblocked model is basically just the international model.

If you did get an -04 model from HRO they made a boofoo. Try and tune to 835 MHz, see if it lets you do so, if you can tune to 835 MHz you have an unblocked -04 model.

T!
 
Last edited:

n2pqq

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
938
Let me preface the below with "I think":

The -04 model, that is serials starting with 04, should be the unblocked gov only model. It would be a US version, with FCC label, but NOT intended for sale to the general public. It might not take the same firmware as the -02 model, the normal US commercial market model.

I am not sure which firmware the -04 model would take, but it would not surprise me if it took the international firmware, since the -04 unblocked model is basically just the international model.

If you did get an -04 model from HRO they made a boofoo. Try and tune to 835 MHz, see if it lets you do so, if you can tune to 835 MHz you have an unblocked -04 model.

T!
You are correct in your assessment :

Icom R8600 Wideband Receiver, Icom IC-R8600
 

EricCottrell

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Nov 8, 2002
Messages
2,375
Location
Boston, Ma
Hello,

I know Icom uses region codes and the R2500 has a remote command to retrieve the region. It makes sense to put the region in the serial number.

02 US Blocked
03 Europe
04 US Unblocked
06 France

You may run into a problem getting the radio serviced. I do not know the policy of Icom, but AOR USA will not repair unblocked radios.

73 Eric
 

Token

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
2,151
Location
Mojave Desert, California, USA
You may run into a problem getting the radio serviced. I do not know the policy of Icom, but AOR USA will not repair unblocked radios.

Hmmm....I can see Icom having a problem servicing European or International versions in the US, they probably having been imported illegally and NOT having Part 15 certification for import. However I don’t think there is anything illegal about owning, or using, such a radio, as far as I know it is only illegal to import them for sale or use. And it is illegal (after a specific date) to modify an originally blocked radio to receive the specified frequency ranges, so I can understand them not wanting to service such modified radios. But a US unblocked version should have proper certification and no modification.

Let me put it this way, when we have sent in our company owned unblocked receivers for service there has been no issue. To purchase them we had to prove they were being used as part of a government contract, and we had to get government authorization (in the form of a CORE signature) to purchase. But for service we did not have to show government affiliation.

Possibly it was since it was a corporate PO that they did not ask. Or they may not have asked because these were legal, Part 15 certified, US unblocked versions.

T!
 

escortz28

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 29, 2004
Messages
174
Location
Powell, Ohio
Thanks to all for assisting in solving this issue. I originally did not look that closely at the S/N since I saw US label on the ICOM box, the FCC labeling on the receiver, and purchased from an authorized US retailer. Token, your 'I think' was spot on - just verified. Makes sense why the non-US V1.10 works fine and the US V1.10 had the error message. Appreciate your responses.
 

prcguy

Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2006
Messages
10,032
Location
So Cal - Richardson, TX - Tewksbury, MA
I can verify an R-8600 04 serial number US Govt version must use the "non USA" versions of firmware. The USA version firmware is only for serial numbers starting with 02 and will not work with an 04.
prcguy


Thanks to all for assisting in solving this issue. I originally did not look that closely at the S/N since I saw US label on the ICOM box, the FCC labeling on the receiver, and purchased from an authorized US retailer. Token, your 'I think' was spot on - just verified. Makes sense why the non-US V1.10 works fine and the US V1.10 had the error message. Appreciate your responses.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top