Icom IC-V8

Status
Not open for further replies.

lucas2121

Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
118
I have an IC-V8 connected to an old mag mount scanner/ CB antenna, just today it started acting weird.
I was listening to a neighboring county's fire dispatch and it kept changing channels on its own and I would put it back up one and 30 sec to a min later it would go back down. After this it just stopped receiving, my other radio with a stock antenna would pick up the channel and the V8 wouldn't. It never did this in the past thats why its weird to me. Does anybody know what this may be, is their an update for it. btw I do not transmit from the V8
 

dwh367

Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2003
Messages
413
Location
Owensboro, KY (Daviess County)
I have an IC-V8 connected to an old mag mount scanner/ CB antenna, just today it started acting weird.
I was listening to a neighboring county's fire dispatch and it kept changing channels on its own and I would put it back up one and 30 sec to a min later it would go back down. After this it just stopped receiving, my other radio with a stock antenna would pick up the channel and the V8 wouldn't. It never did this in the past thats why its weird to me. Does anybody know what this may be, is their an update for it. btw I do not transmit from the V8
If you've done much transmitting on that antenna, that would pretty well explain things.
 

lucas2121

Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
118
If you've done much transmitting on that antenna, that would pretty well explain things.
that's what I was thinking, but I never transmit with this radio, it's always been used for receive only. I've wanted to get a vhf antenna I figured it would pick up better but could never afford it. Well I could afford it but am much to cheap.
 

methusaleh

Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
361
Location
New England
Try reassigning the functions of the keys/dial that change the channels; perhaps your current channel changing button/dial is defective.
 

dwh367

Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2003
Messages
413
Location
Owensboro, KY (Daviess County)
that's what I was thinking, but I never transmit with this radio, it's always been used for receive only. I've wanted to get a vhf antenna I figured it would pick up better but could never afford it. Well I could afford it but am much to cheap.
Sorry. I missed the last sentence in your original post. I've had a handheld act like that on me like that after it received an accidental static electricity discharge. I would try taking the battery out for a couple of hours or so and then give it a try. This is what worked for mine although your mileage may vary. As a last resort, I would try doing a hard reset on it.
 

lucas2121

Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
118
Sorry. I missed the last sentence in your original post. I've had a handheld act like that on me like that after it received an accidental static electricity discharge. I would try taking the battery out for a couple of hours or so and then give it a try. This is what worked for mine although your mileage may vary. As a last resort, I would try doing a hard reset on it.
Alright, thanks I have all the programing for it on my computer so I'll try both.
 

lucas2121

Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
118
Sorry. I missed the last sentence in your original post. I've had a handheld act like that on me like that after it received an accidental static electricity discharge. I would try taking the battery out for a couple of hours or so and then give it a try. This is what worked for mine although your mileage may vary. As a last resort, I would try doing a hard reset on it.
Update:thanks it's working again and I discovered that the intermediate freq is the same as the channel I was monitoring, this is what is causing the channel to jump.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top