Icom: Icom ID-5100 Display issues

wx5atx1

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
205
Location
Fort Worth
My ID-5100 display has gone bonkers. Something seems to be wrong with the touch sensor. It acts like you are touching the display when im not even near it.. for example i will have it in scan mode and it will stop scanning and act like i hit the fm/dv button on the top of the screen, then it will highlight the dv button when the options pull up. Also when i hit the F buttons it acts like I hit it 15 times and scrolls through the different f1,f2,f3.After many attempts at a time i can get into the touch screen calibration but it does no good. same results. I emailed Icom and of course all they said was to send it in. With the radio being on the market so long i would think someone has had this issue before. Ive seen cell phones have this issue and it was a touch sensor. Anyone know what part is out on this or what the issue might be?
 

cognetic

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
127
Location
Indianapolis
Uggghh... sorry to hear about your experience, wx5atx1.
I've owned/own several of these devices, a couple running 24/7/365.

The only screen issues I've experienced have been related to cable or near-field RF feedback or frank head unit failure - mobile, marine portable, fixed base applications.

Please let us know how you fair with any repair specifics!!

-cognetic
 

vagrant

ker-muhj-uhn
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
1,727
Location
California
I had weird problems like this once when I left the programming cable plugged into the radio. The radio was not a 5100 though.
 

belvdr

No longer active as of 2020-12-14
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
939
My 5100 would have the display lock up. I purchased a new display and swapped it myself easily.
 

wx5atx1

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
205
Location
Fort Worth
Uggghh... sorry to hear about your experience, wx5atx1.
I've owned/own several of these devices, a couple running 24/7/365.

The only screen issues I've experienced have been related to cable or near-field RF feedback or frank head unit failure - mobile, marine portable, fixed base applications.

Please let us know how you fair with any repair specifics!!

-cognetic
I sure will. Thank you for your reply.
 

wx5atx1

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
205
Location
Fort Worth
My 5100 would have the display lock up. I purchased a new display and swapped it myself easily.
did you buy a whole new head or just the display itself? Would you mind disclosing how much that cost and what there is to it if you are talking about the display itself.
 

belvdr

No longer active as of 2020-12-14
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
939
It’s been quite a few years but I thought it was around $150 US for the display only. It was an easy job, if you’re comfortable with small screws and ribbon cables.
 

wx5atx1

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
205
Location
Fort Worth
It’s been quite a few years but I thought it was around $150 US for the display only. It was an easy job, if you’re comfortable with small screws and ribbon cables.
Ok thanks, I’ll get in touch with Icom this week. Unless there is somewhere else I can get it?
 

KE5MC

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,095
Location
Lewisville, TX
I'm not familiar with the type, but in the early days of PDAs foreign objects between the screen and frame could be troublesome. Sliding a piece of pager around the frame edge might turn something up.
Mike
 

wx5atx1

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
205
Location
Fort Worth
My radio has started exhibiting the same behavior. Have you had any success?
No I have not. But I did get a quote from Icom for a new display. And I’m hoping that will fix it. The new lcd display is $75. I can give you the part number if you would like.
 
Top