• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

iDEN repeater question

Status
Not open for further replies.

gunz2000

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
32
Location
Port Colborne
Hello I have wondered this for some time now, what would be involved with putting your own iDEN cell site up for Direct Connect, I see equipment on E-bay like this cell site base station
Motorola Iden Cellsite Base Station T5417A | eBay
but what else would one need to set up a single site, and i already know that a tower and antennas would be involved,
I also know that there would be licenses involved and that stuff is expensive, I am not worried about that, this is an informational piece hypothetical speaking and with the idea that money was no object
Thanks
 

MTS2000des

Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
3,470
Location
Cobb County, GA Stadium Crime Zone
without a site controller and a network core on the other end (DAP, interconnect, etc) that is just a dumb radio that will not do anything by itself.

In short, iDEN is not practical for single site operation, way too much required. Keep in mind that this technology has been retired and Motorola won't be supporting it for much longer.

Want to play with single site trunking? LTR is a much more realistic route to go.
 

justindo

Newbie
Joined
Sep 10, 2014
Messages
1
Also interested

I'm also interested in setting up my own iden antenna. I know the technology is old and that just makes me think that I could find whatever I need to do this on ebay for a good price. Let me know if you find anything else out. I just want to use Direct Connect on my old i830 for nostalgic reasons.
 

KevinC

Moderator
Super Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2001
Messages
5,760
Location
Somewhere other than home :(
without a site controller and a network core on the other end (DAP, interconnect, etc) that is just a dumb radio that will not do anything by itself.

In short, iDEN is not practical for single site operation, way too much required. Keep in mind that this technology has been retired and Motorola won't be supporting it for much longer.

Want to play with single site trunking? LTR is a much more realistic route to go.
Just to add to this...

iDEN did have an option called ISO (Isolated Site Operation) which would let Direct Connect still work if the site lost connectivity to the MSO...but good luck finding a load with that option...or ANY load for that matter.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top