• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Identify this EDACS site equipment.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ElroyJetson

I AM NOT YOUR TECH SUPPPORT.
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
2,524
Location
DO NOT ASK ME FOR HELP PROGRAMMING YOUR RADIO. NO.







What is it?

It's not in great shape, but if it's something nice, I'll refurbish it, replace broken
connectors, clean it up very, very well, and power it up. Maybe it's useful, or could
at least be worth enough to make an effort to sell it.

If you know what it is, please tell me.

Elroy
 

WCRadioGuy

Member
Joined
May 5, 2004
Messages
267
Location
Salisbury, MD
This is a SIM (Site Interface Module). The replacement for a Site Controller and mainly used now on SitePro Systems but also used on some of the later GETC systems just prior to SitePro. It's hard to say if this is a workable unit. Does it power up? And if so, what does it say on the front when it does? It would most definitely need to be upgraded with the latest code if that version of SIM supports it. There was a problem with the first generation SIM that kept blowing fuses (which are surface mount) when switching between DC OFF and AC too quickly. This has since been fixed quite a few years ago. This could be one of those first units. Unless you can figure out if it works, it may not be worth much.
 

WCRadioGuy

Member
Joined
May 5, 2004
Messages
267
Location
Salisbury, MD
This is a SIM (Site Interface Module). The replacement for a Site Controller and mainly used now on SitePro Systems but also used on some of the later GETC systems just prior to SitePro. It's hard to say if this is a workable unit. Does it power up? And if so, what does it say on the front when it does? It would most definitely need to be upgraded with the latest code if that version of SIM supports it. There was a problem with the first generation SIM that kept blowing fuses (which are surface mount) when switching between DC OFF and AC too quickly. This has since been fixed quite a few years ago. This could be one of those first units. Unless you can figure out if it works, it may not be worth much.
A closer look at the unit tells me it VERY old. Looks like it only works on DC voltage. The newer model works on both AC and DC and have a three position switch on the front for DC/OFF/AC
 

ElroyJetson

I AM NOT YOUR TECH SUPPPORT.
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
2,524
Location
DO NOT ASK ME FOR HELP PROGRAMMING YOUR RADIO. NO.
Well, that tells me something. I do appreciate it.

I'll try to get it running. I have not yet attempted to power it up. I need to look inside it and make sure it has no corrosion issues or debris in it first.

And I have at least one complete SitePro, too. With both the plug-in cards. And a GETC shelf. (Appears complete.)

I'd like, just for the fun of it, to assemble a complete working 3-channel EDACS trunked system. My
access to scrap units has been good enough over the past year that it's possibly a goal I can reach.

Elroy
 

WCRadioGuy

Member
Joined
May 5, 2004
Messages
267
Location
Salisbury, MD
Programming will require PRISM MASTR/SIM Programming software and specific cable. Once the SIM is programmed and assigned an IP address, it can then be programmed via IP.

Well, that tells me something. I do appreciate it.

I'll try to get it running. I have not yet attempted to power it up. I need to look inside it and make sure it has no corrosion issues or debris in it first.

And I have at least one complete SitePro, too. With both the plug-in cards. And a GETC shelf. (Appears complete.)

I'd like, just for the fun of it, to assemble a complete working 3-channel EDACS trunked system. My
access to scrap units has been good enough over the past year that it's possibly a goal I can reach.

Elroy
 

WCRadioGuy

Member
Joined
May 5, 2004
Messages
267
Location
Salisbury, MD
Let me know what the messages are and I will see if I can interpret them for you.

I didn't get a chance to clean it out and fire it up today, but I did fire up my SitePro, which appears to be
ready to go to work. But I have no info on how to interpret the messages on the display.


Elroy
 
L

LS1_TA

Guest
The function of the SIM is to interface the MIII or MII to a System Manager or a CSD. It communicates call activity,alarms, channel provisioning and more.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top