Idiot newbie needs advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Murphy625

Hi Folks,
The wife and I recently realized how ridiculously unprepared we are for any kind of national disaster.. To that end, we've decided to invest a bit into making some preparations.

I'm looking to purchase a ham radio.. I'm an electrical engineer but I don't know jack squat about amateur radio's..

So I'm looking for advice.. I don't plan to actually use the radio until I see zombies walking around (that was a joke).. at which time I will figure out how to use it via my stored library of documents.

So with that in mind, if you were going to purchase a ham radio that would allow you to communicate with others on a national and local level, what equipment would you purchase? I plan on storing it in a multi-layered Faraday cage.

I don't want something cheap, but I'm not looking for a Rolls Royce either.. A nice "do it all" radio from a respected manufacturer that is well known for quality.

Perhaps some suggestions on a base unit, a mobile (car) unit, and a handheld unit?

Thank you,

wrath

Out of the current stock or radios for mobile and base I would say Shack in a box with the icom 7100 which are on sale most places about now for $850 , for a handheld I would go with the Kenwood 74a as it does dstar digital as well as tactical ops with APRS , built in TNC & GPS , the 74a will also allow you to go both digital and analog simplex with your mobile or base as well as use it via repeaters and has the whole world on HF. Put a screwdriver type Antena on the mobile for HF and a decent 5/8 wave antenna for 2/70 cm, and call it done .

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk

toastycookies

Yaesu FT-857D would give you a decent rig that'd do HF 6/2/70cm.

But good luck trying to use any type of radio for an emergency if you've never used it before, you won't get very far.

Murphy625

Yaesu FT-857D would give you a decent rig that'd do HF 6/2/70cm.