• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Ignition Sense - Motorola Astro Spectra

Status
Not open for further replies.

MOCOMD1

Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2009
Messages
50
Is the 12v Ignition Sense connection of the 16 pin accessory connector absolutely needed to power on?

I have power connected so either the radio is bricked or it is required.
 

fineshot1

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2004
Messages
2,479
Location
NJ USA (Republic of NJ)
Is the 12v Ignition Sense connection of the 16 pin accessory connector absolutely needed to power on?

I have power connected so either the radio is bricked or it is required.
If you are running all conventional repeaters and simplex then it really does not matter.

If you have a trunking system setup in the programing then the ignition sense is necessary
for deaffiliation on powering off via ignition +V loss.

yes it has to have it to work It is also your speaker connection
The speaker connection depends on whether it is a chasis mount or remote head mount.

If it is a chasis mount then you are correct. If it is a remote head mount the speaker
connection is on the control cable near the head end.
 

MOCOMD1

Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2009
Messages
50
If you are running all conventional repeaters and simplex then it really does not matter.

If you have a trunking system setup in the programing then the ignition sense is necessary
for deaffiliation on powering off via ignition +V loss.
It is a trunking system, but not having the ignition sense connected stop the radio from powering on all together?



The speaker connection depends on whether it is a chasis mount or remote head mount.

If it is a chasis mount then you are correct. If it is a remote head mount the speaker
connection is on the control cable near the head end.
It is a chasis (dash) mount.
 

kb5udf

Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2004
Messages
526
Location
Louisiana
No ignition sense power = no power up

Ok I think the subject says it all. Yes, if you don't have power to ignition sense, the radio will NOT power up at all. In practice you can just connect the ignition sense wire off of the 16 pin connector to the same +12volt source as the main power cable, or splice them together right off the back of the radio.

You can read about all the pinouts on the connector on batlabs.
 

fineshot1

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2004
Messages
2,479
Location
NJ USA (Republic of NJ)
In practice you can just connect the ignition sense wire off of the 16 pin connector to the same +12volt source as the main power cable, or splice them together right off the back of the radio.
This is NOT a good idea and NOT recommended by motorola. As I said above it is necessary to
have the ignition sense hooked up properly for the radio to de-affiliate from the system. This may
seem trivial to most hams but is important from the system DB admins (or whomever runs the
trunking system) perspective. With thousands of radios on a trunk system it is necessary to
get this right as the DB admin usually reviews statistics logged by the system and can notice
such anomalies in the DB.
 

MOCOMD1

Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2009
Messages
50
Where should the ignition sense connected to be "hooked up properly"? Any ACC connection? (IE: 12v lighter socket)
 

fineshot1

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2004
Messages
2,479
Location
NJ USA (Republic of NJ)
Where should the ignition sense connected to be "hooked up properly"? Any ACC connection? (IE: 12v lighter socket)
Any point in the fuse box that supplies 12V when the ignition is turned on.

I use the pig tail fuse tap kits from tessco

The ignition line that goes to the radio should be properly fused - i think moto
includes a 3 or 4 amp ignition fuse kit with the radio.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top