• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Ignition Sense On 8180

Status
Not open for further replies.

btritch

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
1,876
Location
Paragould/Greene County AR
If the Ingnition Sense only accidently gets checked on an 8180 where it can't be turned on or off by the Power switch, How do you fix that? It's gotten checked and won't come on and when I turn the ignition on or start the car it won't as well. Just wondered if there was a specific way I had to do that?
For some reason when I start the car the VHF which is set that way on purpose comes on, But the 8180 doesn't and it was accidently set.. What's the way to fix that.. I hope there is one!
 

jim202

Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2002
Messages
2,558
Location
New Orleans region
If the Ingnition Sense only accidently gets checked on an 8180 where it can't be turned on or off by the Power switch, How do you fix that? It's gotten checked and won't come on and when I turn the ignition on or start the car it won't as well. Just wondered if there was a specific way I had to do that?
For some reason when I start the car the VHF which is set that way on purpose comes on, But the 8180 doesn't and it was accidently set.. What's the way to fix that.. I hope there is one!

Let me ask the big question here. You did run the ignition feed through a fuse to the correct pin on the accessory connector didn't you. There is +12 volts on that pin when the ignition is turned on as measured with a good voltmeter I hope.
 

btritch

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
1,876
Location
Paragould/Greene County AR
Let me ask the big question here. You did run the ignition feed through a fuse to the correct pin on the accessory connector didn't you. There is +12 volts on that pin when the ignition is turned on as measured with a good voltmeter I hope.
It's actually hooked in direct to the battery thru a fuse. I may have to rewire it to an accesory to get it back on. but it's actually hooked directly to the battery as is the VHF but it works correctly for some reason.
 

ramal121

Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
1,636
Location
Sonoma, CA
Ignition sense has two options, ignition / power switch and ignition only. Sounds like you have the latter programmed and it ignores the power switch. Try pulling all power to reset the radio, hook the red/black power wires back first, then apply 12 volts to the yellow ignition sense and see if it responds.
 

btritch

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
1,876
Location
Paragould/Greene County AR
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 2.3.3; en-us; HTC-A9192/1.0 Build/GRI40) AppleWebKit/533.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/533.1)

I only hooked up red and black to the battery itself thru a fuse. Never saw a yellow. Where is it?
 

btritch

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
1,876
Location
Paragould/Greene County AR
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 2.3.3; en-us; HTC-A9192/1.0 Build/GRI40) AppleWebKit/533.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/533.1)

I only hooked up red and black to the battery itself thru a fuse. Never saw a yellow. Where is it?
 

jrw14493

Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2003
Messages
69
It emits from the back of the radio next to the red and black one and has a black cap on the end of the wire.
 

btritch

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
1,876
Location
Paragould/Greene County AR
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_5 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8L1 Safari/6533.18.5)

Yes I have found that now, never knew why that was there...got it fixed and working now...thanks again guys!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top