I'm new to scanners, which one should I get as a beginner?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kc0bus

Hi,
I'm new to scanners and I'm just starting out for the first time. I'm not interested in listening to live streaming scanner audio over the internet and wish to buy a new physical scanner radio receiver to listen to instead. How do I know which model to get looking at all the various different modes that these radio receivers now have these days such as:
-Analog
-Trunking
-APCO Phase I
-APCO Phase II
-DMR
I'm primarily and mainly interested in listening to my local police and sheriff departments, but I'm also interested in listening to other radio services too, such as:
-Ham/Amateur radio
-CB (Citizen Band) radio
-FRS (Family Radio Service)/GMRS (General Mobile Radio Service) /MURS (Multi Use Radio Service) radio services
-Fire
-Paramedics/EMS (Emergency Medical Services)
-weather
-civil aircraft/SAR (Search-And-Rescue)
-etc.
Which scanners would be good to look at for a first-time beginner that's relatively simple and easy to use and not too terribly expensive and that would cover mainly my local police and sheriff's departments if nothing else? Also, how do I know which modes my local police and sheriff's departments use in the first place?
Thank you

Also, how do I know which modes my local police and sheriff's departments use in the first place?
You can look up your local services in the Database:

For scanners, I prefer Uniden. Here is a listing of models:

DMR is available as an add-on.

The SDS series is top of the line - and therefore more expensive.

A more economical option is the 996P2 or 325P2 handheld. That's what I've chosen and I like them.

It all depends upon your budget. You might want to let us know where you are.

Good luck!

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Hi,